SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Faced Fly Front

Viewed 5927 times
Posted by: Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Y starstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/19/08 4:47 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
Web site/URL: photo
So many styles for pants and skirts have a faced waist (no waistband) combined with a fly front. Instructions for sewing these seem to be quite mysterious, especially when found on HotPatterns or in Burda WOF, without illustrations!

I have prepared a photo tutorial which can be found Here.

This method will work for any non-waistband fly front garment, including skirts and pants with faced waist-yokes and high-waisted pants and skirts.

If anything is not clear, please post a comment or questions and I will try to improve the tutorial.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MareeAlison said...
Brilliant. thank you so much. I suppose I can use this similarly on a side seam. The tops of the zip always stick into my waistline on side zips without an extra panel to stop it doing that .
5/20/08 2:52 AM
ClareinStitches said...
What beautiful finish. Thank you So for posting such a detialed Tutorial. This is one I shall treasure.
5/20/08 6:10 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you so much.
5/20/08 8:49 AM
SewFar said...
Excellent tutorial, Kay Y. The step-by-step instructions, well-written captions, and beautifully clear and detailed photos are first rate. Immediately added to my faves. Thank you!
5/20/08 9:11 AM
utz said...
Thank you very much, excellent (and so well photographed) tutorial.
5/21/08 3:27 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great tutorial. I will try it on my next pair of pants. Thanks a bunch for the excellent descriptions w photos!
5/27/08 9:20 PM
Sigrid. said...
Excellent tutorial. Thanks for putting it together. This is the solution to a problem I encountered last year with a BWOF shorts pattern, that became a wadder because the instructions were not clear and I couldn't figure out what to do.
5/28/08 10:51 AM
MIMOSA said...
Excellent sewing and pictures . I wish I could dnld all the pics for future reference! Thanks so much !
5/29/08 6:09 AM
TexasPat said...
Kay Y: your tutorials are so very helpful. I, too, am a PMBer, but unlike you am just learning construction. Many thanks, Patti
6/10/08 7:57 PM
marjenann said...
Thanks so much for your well done tutorial!! I know I will be referring to it, hopefully my zipper placement will look as perfect as your's! - Annette
7/14/08 9:18 AM
o3b said...
This is a great tutorial. I haven't made pants with this waistline in many years, but they were flattering before. I am bookmarking your tutorial so my next pair will look nicely finished like yours.
7/29/08 5:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks Kay, this is wonderful!
10/3/08 10:37 AM
GubC said...
Fab tute, I've bookmarked it!
10/29/09 5:04 AM
GubC said...
Fab tute, I've bookmarked it!
10/29/09 5:04 AM
GubC said...
Fab tute, I've bookmarked it. Thankyou!
10/29/09 5:05 AM
strongnow said...
Thanks so much for this information. I need it for my first pair of non-elastic waist pants!
8/14/11 2:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.