SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Faced Fly Front

Viewed 6183 times
Posted by: Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Y starstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/19/08 4:47 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
Web site/URL: photo
So many styles for pants and skirts have a faced waist (no waistband) combined with a fly front. Instructions for sewing these seem to be quite mysterious, especially when found on HotPatterns or in Burda WOF, without illustrations!

I have prepared a photo tutorial which can be found Here.

This method will work for any non-waistband fly front garment, including skirts and pants with faced waist-yokes and high-waisted pants and skirts.

If anything is not clear, please post a comment or questions and I will try to improve the tutorial.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
strongnow said...
Thanks so much for this information. I need it for my first pair of non-elastic waist pants!
8/14/11 2:59 PM
GubC said...
Fab tute, I've bookmarked it. Thankyou!
10/29/09 5:05 AM
GubC said...
Fab tute, I've bookmarked it!
10/29/09 5:04 AM
GubC said...
Fab tute, I've bookmarked it!
10/29/09 5:04 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks Kay, this is wonderful!
10/3/08 10:37 AM
o3b said...
This is a great tutorial. I haven't made pants with this waistline in many years, but they were flattering before. I am bookmarking your tutorial so my next pair will look nicely finished like yours.
7/29/08 5:23 PM
marjenann said...
Thanks so much for your well done tutorial!! I know I will be referring to it, hopefully my zipper placement will look as perfect as your's! - Annette
7/14/08 9:18 AM
TexasPat said...
Kay Y: your tutorials are so very helpful. I, too, am a PMBer, but unlike you am just learning construction. Many thanks, Patti
6/10/08 7:57 PM
MIMOSA said...
Excellent sewing and pictures . I wish I could dnld all the pics for future reference! Thanks so much !
5/29/08 6:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
Excellent tutorial. Thanks for putting it together. This is the solution to a problem I encountered last year with a BWOF shorts pattern, that became a wadder because the instructions were not clear and I couldn't figure out what to do.
5/28/08 10:51 AM
sewing for fun said...
Great tutorial. I will try it on my next pair of pants. Thanks a bunch for the excellent descriptions w photos!
5/27/08 9:20 PM
utz said...
Thank you very much, excellent (and so well photographed) tutorial.
5/21/08 3:27 PM
SewFar said...
Excellent tutorial, Kay Y. The step-by-step instructions, well-written captions, and beautifully clear and detailed photos are first rate. Immediately added to my faves. Thank you!
5/20/08 9:11 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you so much.
5/20/08 8:49 AM
ClareinStitches said...
What beautiful finish. Thank you So for posting such a detialed Tutorial. This is one I shall treasure.
5/20/08 6:10 AM
MareeAlison said...
Brilliant. thank you so much. I suppose I can use this similarly on a side seam. The tops of the zip always stick into my waistline on side zips without an extra panel to stop it doing that .
5/20/08 2:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.