SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Serger needles - easy insertion tip

Viewed 5214 times
Posted by: serena4celeste
photo

 
 
About serena4celeste
Member since: 2/25/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/24/08 10:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
When I'd loosen the screw on my serger to change the needles - I'd always lose one or both of them. I know they say to keep them threaded so they don't slip away, but that's never worked for me. One day I had an AHA moment and thought I could rig a holder of sorts from a tiny sliver of hook and loop tape (velcro). It was too stiff though and there wasn't enough vertical leeway to work with. I was rummaging around DH's workroom and came across a scrap of soft pink foam. I cut a tiny scrap and snipped it down to about 3/4" wide by 1/4" thick.

Here's how it works: I stick both needles into the foam - approximately the distance apart as they're to be inserted into the machine (no need to be really precise) and when they're lifted up into the slots they're so easy to maneuver into place....wiggle room so to speak! The foam acts like a little "pillow" that gently supports them and holds them on a platform of sorts so they can be adjusted into place without losing them. After the screw is tightened securely I just pull the foam off and "VOILA".....no more lost needles. Finally, I can quit pulling my hair out!

Hope this made sense.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
gotasew said...
Thanks -- I am in the throws of struggling with changing needles on my new serger and I'm going to try you technique!
5/24/08 11:33 PM
Susan M said...
Very clever of you!
5/24/08 11:37 PM
granny geek said...
Great idea...thank you! I have often wordered why the designers make sergers so hard to change needles. If only the pressor foot would lift higher or something that would make it easier to get fingers into that space. Another thing that bothers me, not only on sergers, is the placement of the pressor foot lever. It should be on the left so you can use your right hand on the fabric. My old Singer was like that, and it made it much easier than my state of the art Babylock Ellegante and Ellageo which have levers on the right. You have to reach in under the harp to reach it. Oh well...they will all get better with each new model. I wonder if the designers read these reviews?
5/25/08 1:55 AM
appleton78 said...
Great tip! Thanks for this one. I'm 48 and am at that point where my eyesight is not the best close up...I haven't gotten used to those darn bifocals...
5/25/08 8:07 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Great tip.
5/25/08 8:22 AM
SewRaeMe said...
My Pfaff serger came with a little "needle holder", you just insert the needle in the end and you are then able to hold it there until you have secured it with the screw. I am not sure but I don't think they are expensive and you canjust pick them up at any serger dealer. I know I would be lost without mine for the reasons you mentioned.
5/25/08 9:46 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Genius--thanks for sharing!!
5/25/08 4:18 PM
Nancywin said...
great idea! I used to have one of those needle holder/ brushes, but I lost it and can't find another. I'm going to try your tip. Thanks
6/7/08 2:43 PM
frame said...
This is such a great idea! Thanks for sharing it.
7/3/08 11:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.