SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > The New-Way Course in Fashionable Clothes Making

California, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5696 times
Posted by: Debspuncturedthumb
photo

 
 
About Debspuncturedthumb
CA USA
Member since: 4/10/03
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/23/03 5:44 PM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
For anyone reading here looking to learn vintage sewing techniques for FREE this online printable course is just the thing.

Many of the techniques in this 56 chapter course manual can be 'converted' to modern sewing machine use in addition to the hand stitchery which includes a full repertoire worthy of a respectable tailor. Who would have thought most of the techniques from this 'relic' of 1926 would be just as good today as the day it was released? I'd say Great Grandma learned to be a tailor when she took sewing class!

The best part to me is chapter 24: how to make your own dress form using gummed paper and a shirt replete with black and white photos!

Enjoy and I hope it helps anyone out there looking to learn about 'old tyme sewing, culture and obscure or somewhat forgotten techniques and materials.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryCreative said...
I believe this is what the OP was talking about: http://vintagesewing.info/1920s/26-fcm/fcm-toc.html ... I could be wrong though!
6/14/09 8:31 PM
CarynAnn said...
Where is the link for this guide?
1/17/09 5:33 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Betty, I couldn't agree more that knowing the 'old' or 'hand' techniques gives a better understanding of the 'new.' It also trains the eye when looking for construction 'clues' in finer garments. There are so many resources on the 'Net. Simply by using any search engine and a little time there can and does enrich knowledge to draw upon for good sewing.
5/4/03 6:53 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
That is a great site! I like reading about the old techniques; sometimes it helps me understand the "new" techniques better, since I grew up doing a lot of hand-sewing. P.S. the University of Nebraska site has been reviewed on PR. It is really great as a fabric reference.
5/1/03 10:11 AM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Thanks els! I just received an order from Nancy's and will put that on my list next time I place an order from her.
4/28/03 6:35 PM
els said...
Hello Debspuncturedthumb,I gorgot to mention that Nancys notions has an informative booklet which describes how to use 15 sewing machine presser feet,with clear instructions
4/25/03 9:53 PM
els said...
I also knew the site sewingmachinefeet .About 3 years ago I ordered some feet from nancysnotions and they are great and so much cheaper than the originals by the brand of your sewingmachine.see also the website http://www.sewitgoes.net/smuse/attachments/attachindex.html for more info how to use some feet.
4/25/03 9:49 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Thanks Els! I just found another great resource for presser feet that fit more than one type of sewing machine shank at http://www.sewingmachinefeet.com Enjoy and I'll probably be buying from that site you mentioned.
4/25/03 8:46 PM
els said...
Thanks for sharing the vintagesewing website its great,and the ianr site I wanted to review last week but now everybody can see for them selves,I read in your bio that you were looking for old designerpatterns,maby this site will be a help to find what you are looking for:http://www.oldpatterns.com the site has also a whole lot of related links for patterns from the past.good luck
4/25/03 8:33 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
'Glad you like it! Today I printed out the whole thing, put the pages 2 at a time (front and back) into a clear cover binder. For the front and back cover inserts I went to the home page for this 1926 course, temporarily saved the images to 'my pictures' then printed 3 out as 8" X 12" pages. I inserted the first 2 front and back and then folded the 3rd one for the spine that way it is easy to identify on my sewing bookshelf! By the way, in looking around that site there are other books being 'coded' which may be uploaded fairly soon for us to download. One of these which I know was used by one of my grandmothers is 'The Bishop Method of Sewing Construction.' I found a copy of this 1959 classic for .50cents at a thrift store. Another site found while using the search engines and very helpful is http://www.ianr.unl.edu/pubs/textiles/ The University of Nebraska Cooperative Extension Catalog of Publications-I was looking for info. on home canning and found the Textiles, Clothing and Design link which is also downloadable(I did the same with this too) and could be used by both instructors and students! It is amazing what can be found by internet thus saving time and money to learn and improve your sewing and any other crafts you may be involved in!
4/25/03 0:43 AM
MaryBeth said...
Thanks! This is a great tutorial!
4/24/03 0:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.