Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
The New-Way Course in Fashionable Clothes Making (Sewing Class Review)
California, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5417 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Posted by: Debspuncturedthumb
photo
About Debspuncturedthumb
CA USA
Member since: 4/10/03
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/23/03 5:44 PM
Rating: star
Web site/URL: photo
For anyone reading here looking to learn vintage sewing techniques for FREE this online printable course is just the thing.

Many of the techniques in this 56 chapter course manual can be 'converted' to modern sewing machine use in addition to the hand stitchery which includes a full repertoire worthy of a respectable tailor. Who would have thought most of the techniques from this 'relic' of 1926 would be just as good today as the day it was released? I'd say Great Grandma learned to be a tailor when she took sewing class!

The best part to me is chapter 24: how to make your own dress form using gummed paper and a shirt replete with black and white photos!

Enjoy and I hope it helps anyone out there looking to learn about 'old tyme sewing, culture and obscure or somewhat forgotten techniques and materials.
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Thanks! This is a great tutorial!
4/24/03 0:02 AM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
'Glad you like it! Today I printed out the whole thing, put the pages 2 at a time (front and back) into a clear cover binder. For the front and back cover inserts I went to the home page for this 1926 course, temporarily saved the images to 'my pictures' then printed 3 out as 8" X 12" pages. I inserted the first 2 front and back and then folded the 3rd one for the spine that way it is easy to identify on my sewing bookshelf! By the way, in looking around that site there are other books being 'coded' which may be uploaded fairly soon for us to download. One of these which I know was used by one of my grandmothers is 'The Bishop Method of Sewing Construction.' I found a copy of this 1959 classic for .50cents at a thrift store. Another site found while using the search engines and very helpful is http://www.ianr.unl.edu/pubs/textiles/ The University of Nebraska Cooperative Extension Catalog of Publications-I was looking for info. on home canning and found the Textiles, Clothing and Design link which is also downloadable(I did the same with this too) and could be used by both instructors and students! It is amazing what can be found by internet thus saving time and money to learn and improve your sewing and any other crafts you may be involved in!
4/25/03 0:43 AM
els said...
Thanks for sharing the vintagesewing website its great,and the ianr site I wanted to review last week but now everybody can see for them selves,I read in your bio that you were looking for old designerpatterns,maby this site will be a help to find what you are looking for:http://www.oldpatterns.com the site has also a whole lot of related links for patterns from the past.good luck
4/25/03 8:33 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Thanks Els! I just found another great resource for presser feet that fit more than one type of sewing machine shank at http://www.sewingmachinefeet.com Enjoy and I'll probably be buying from that site you mentioned.
4/25/03 8:46 PM
els said...
I also knew the site sewingmachinefeet .About 3 years ago I ordered some feet from nancysnotions and they are great and so much cheaper than the originals by the brand of your sewingmachine.see also the website http://www.sewitgoes.net/smuse/attachments/attachindex.html for more info how to use some feet.
4/25/03 9:49 PM
els said...
Hello Debspuncturedthumb,I gorgot to mention that Nancys notions has an informative booklet which describes how to use 15 sewing machine presser feet,with clear instructions
4/25/03 9:53 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Thanks els! I just received an order from Nancy's and will put that on my list next time I place an order from her.
4/28/03 6:35 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
That is a great site! I like reading about the old techniques; sometimes it helps me understand the "new" techniques better, since I grew up doing a lot of hand-sewing. P.S. the University of Nebraska site has been reviewed on PR. It is really great as a fabric reference.
5/1/03 10:11 AM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Betty, I couldn't agree more that knowing the 'old' or 'hand' techniques gives a better understanding of the 'new.' It also trains the eye when looking for construction 'clues' in finer garments. There are so many resources on the 'Net. Simply by using any search engine and a little time there can and does enrich knowledge to draw upon for good sewing.
5/4/03 6:53 AM
dizzle said...
Where is the link for this guide?
1/17/09 5:33 PM
SewVeryCreative said...
I believe this is what the OP was talking about: http://vintagesewing.info/1920s/26-fcm/fcm-toc.html ... I could be wrong though!
6/14/09 8:31 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us