SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Adjusting Multi-Size Patterns

Viewed 6351 times
Posted by: SewFar
photo

 
 
About SewFar star
BC CANADA
Member since: 4/19/06
Reviews written: 10
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/30/08 9:24 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
The next step to properly fitting Burda patterns is now up at Burdastyle!

When you check pattern size charts, are you one size at the shoulders, another at the bust, yet another at the waist and then the hips? (Who isn't!?) This latest Burda tutorial has step-by-step instructions on how to Adjust Patterns for Mixed Sizes.

The technique illustrated could be applied to any multi-size pattern, not just Burda.

Adjust Patterns for Mixed Sizes appropriately follows up the recently posted Find Your Burda Size and How to Measure Yourself tutorials, which are linked to this previous tip: Click Here

Just keeps getting better!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
adelaide original said...
This will make a big difference for me when I am trying to work with my patterns.
6/21/10 10:32 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I am glad someone finally put these instructions on the web. With all those fitting books out there, people tend to forget (or not be aware) that using the multi-size lines is often the easiest way to alter a pattern.
8/31/08 10:57 AM
SewFar said...
Beth -- So glad you found the info useful! While I wish I could take credit for the article, kudos belong to the team at Burdastyle.com. (NA) :)
6/9/08 10:51 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
What a great tip! I especially like your comment: "Make sure that the largest point of the French curve falls on the waist mark, as this is where you want the pinnacle of the curve to be." I can't tell you how many times I've become confused as to which way the curve should fall. Now you've cleared that up for me. Thank you!
6/8/08 7:48 PM
Learn To Sew said...
What a great article. I really need to buy a french curve for sewing. I put this is favorites.
6/4/08 7:21 PM
Orsi said...
SewFar- I have not looked at my Burda magazines to check. I am sure you are right about the side notch. On the othere hand, looking at the side seam curve, it still looks to me that the waist got moved down a bit. The narrowest point is lower on adjusted pattern- which might be what some people need, but not necessarily. Not trying to confuse anyone, and the curve should be adjusted at fitting anyhow...
6/2/08 4:36 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! what a great link! I love it and will recommend it to my students. I'd like to also remind sewers that pin fitting a pattern after making all this adjustments will also be of great benefit. I am ashamed of how long it took me to try this wonderful trick. I can't tell you how many years I would just sew up a size 12 pattern with not a single adjustment - just prayed it would magically fit. What a waste of time and money!
6/2/08 0:59 AM
SewFar said...
Orsi -- Actually, in Burda/BWOF symbology, the little notch you point out at the side seam is a joining notch (to line up adjacent pattern pieces). The waistline (always clearly labelled such on Burda patterns) is indicated by the very long solid line you see on the right. HTH
6/1/08 6:08 PM
Orsi said...
Nice illustration. I noticed though that the narrowest point at the waist is marked lower than it should be- isn't the little notch at the side seam marking the waist line? In the photos the waist is moved down below the side seam notch.
6/1/08 3:01 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thanks for the very helpful tip. It's good to know I've been doing this correctly up to now.
5/31/08 11:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.