SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Yves Saint-Laurent, 40 years of retrospective

Quebec, CANADA
Viewed 5522 times
Posted by: Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahler starstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/3/08 8:18 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco have designed and developed, in partnership with the Fondation Pierre Bergé - Yves Saint Laurent, the first retrospective spanning the forty years of creation of the Maison de haute couture Yves Saint Laurent. Presented from May 29 to September 28, 2008, the exhibition Yves Saint Laurent focusses on this virtuoso of haute couture, whose unique style blends references to the world of art with allusions to pop culture and social revolution.

This is a must see exhibition.

I saw it a little fast last week-end ans I am going back this Friday since they will offer free entrance to commemorate Saint-Laurent's recent death.

All the legendary pieces he created are there. Saint-Laurent made haute couture available to a greater amount of woman, he made wearing pants possible to all of us. He liberated fashion.

It will be in San Francisco soon. Don't miss it.

As we say in French, je suis une fan finie !!! ;-) Or if you prefer, I am a fan for now and ever !

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
The exhibition will be in San Francisco from November 1st 2008 until March 1st 2009. Don't miss it
7/11/08 12:40 PM
Sew'n'go said...
It was a great exhibit! I had the chance to zip in as I was travelling from Ontario to Nova Scotia. What I learned from this exhibit: couture dresses are meant to be noticed. It doesn't take much - a splash of color, an interesting design feature, a touch of whimsy. I will now view everything I make with this in mind, "Where is the "pop"?" I tend to dress to fade into the background - it seems so much more practical to make the plain black sweater, the standard pinstripe skirt, the safe white blouse. No more! This chubby, mid-aged woman is going to develop a little flare! If you get a chance to see this exhibit, do so! (I longed to touch the fabric and turn things to the inside to see the construction detailing).
7/6/08 8:38 AM
cme95677 said...
I would love to see this.......I've search the San Francisco museum web site and can't find any info on when it will be coming here. I don't want to miss this. Mj
6/25/08 3:19 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
6/24/08 I just came back from the Exhibit... Went with an artist friend. She just LOVED the colours. Being 100% TACTILE, myself, I had SO hard a time NOT TOUCHING the fabrics, textures and peeping inside for sewing details. WONDERFUL show!!
6/8/08 5:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Duplicate.
6/3/08 8:41 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for the link. I attend YSL's retrospective in New York in the mid 1980s, and it was spectacular. I know you'll enjoy your second visit.
6/3/08 8:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.