Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Yves Saint-Laurent, 40 years of retrospective (Sewing Expo Review)
Quebec, CANADA
Viewed 5240 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Posted by: Mahler
photo
Friend of PR
About Mahler starstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/3/08 8:18 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: photo
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco have designed and developed, in partnership with the Fondation Pierre Bergé - Yves Saint Laurent, the first retrospective spanning the forty years of creation of the Maison de haute couture Yves Saint Laurent. Presented from May 29 to September 28, 2008, the exhibition Yves Saint Laurent focusses on this virtuoso of haute couture, whose unique style blends references to the world of art with allusions to pop culture and social revolution.

This is a must see exhibition.

I saw it a little fast last week-end ans I am going back this Friday since they will offer free entrance to commemorate Saint-Laurent's recent death.

All the legendary pieces he created are there. Saint-Laurent made haute couture available to a greater amount of woman, he made wearing pants possible to all of us. He liberated fashion.

It will be in San Francisco soon. Don't miss it.

As we say in French, je suis une fan finie !!! ;-) Or if you prefer, I am a fan for now and ever !
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for the link. I attend YSL's retrospective in New York in the mid 1980s, and it was spectacular. I know you'll enjoy your second visit.
6/3/08 8:41 PM
nancy2001 said...
Duplicate.
6/3/08 8:41 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
6/24/08 I just came back from the Exhibit... Went with an artist friend. She just LOVED the colours. Being 100% TACTILE, myself, I had SO hard a time NOT TOUCHING the fabrics, textures and peeping inside for sewing details. WONDERFUL show!!
6/8/08 5:58 PM
cme95677 said...
I would love to see this.......I've search the San Francisco museum web site and can't find any info on when it will be coming here. I don't want to miss this. Mj
6/25/08 3:19 PM
Sew'n'go said...
It was a great exhibit! I had the chance to zip in as I was travelling from Ontario to Nova Scotia. What I learned from this exhibit: couture dresses are meant to be noticed. It doesn't take much - a splash of color, an interesting design feature, a touch of whimsy. I will now view everything I make with this in mind, "Where is the "pop"?" I tend to dress to fade into the background - it seems so much more practical to make the plain black sweater, the standard pinstripe skirt, the safe white blouse. No more! This chubby, mid-aged woman is going to develop a little flare! If you get a chance to see this exhibit, do so! (I longed to touch the fabric and turn things to the inside to see the construction detailing).
7/6/08 8:38 AM
Mahler said...
The exhibition will be in San Francisco from November 1st 2008 until March 1st 2009. Don't miss it
7/11/08 12:40 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us