SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bobbin-stitched darts

Viewed 5461 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/03 8:28 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For sewing darts in sheer fabric you can use the bobbin stitch method for a clean finished dart point.
With this method you stitch the dart with only 1 thread from the bobbin so you can avoid the backstitching or knotting the threads together at the point like you would normally finnish the dart..
-Fold and pin the dart in place.
-Remove the thread from the needle eye,thread the bobbin thread through the needle from the back to the front.
-Tie the bobbin and needle thread in an overhand knot above the needle eye,then careful draw the bobbin thread up through all thread guides until the knot reaches the spool.
-For extra long darts draw up even more thread
-Beginnning at the dart point,stitch to the dart cut end;backstitch and clip the threads.
-Repeat to rethread the machine for each next dart.
It may seems a lot of work but it surely is worth the effort.
REMEMBER TO START STITCHING FROM THE TOP.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
I wish I could watch this being done! I am going to try it out as soon as I can get back into my sewing room after house remodel!
4/29/03 8:21 PM
els said...
In'stead of backstitching at the dart cut end I prefer to reduce the stitchlenght about 1/2 inch before I reach the end of the dart end.But if you doing so you must be certain that the dart has not to be ripped because that is a very hard task with those very tiny stitches at the end.This way of finishing your dart seam can ofcourse also be used in every other seams which has to be sewed.Start and finish it this way is preferable for sewing with sheers.
4/29/03 9:11 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Els, great tip. I have used the small stitch length to finish my darts every since I started sewing, and I've never had a problem with darts. It really works great. (You do have to mark them well and stitch carefully though!) I have not tried the bobbin method but it sure sounds interesting.
5/3/03 0:18 AM
Joann Eidhoff said...
What a wonderful idea! Another method for getting the "inside" of a garment to look almost as nice as the "outside". I tried out your tip and i hope that I will always remember this good idea!
6/14/03 3:10 PM
heznrich said...
THANKS SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME TO POST ALL OF THESE TIPS!!! THEY ARE GREAT AND I AM LEARNING SO MUCH!
5/12/05 8:29 PM
ItzMePenny said...
Excellent tip! I've read about this technique a couple of times before, but your explanation is the only one that makes it clear why, and how, to use this technique. Thanks!!
2/7/06 1:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.