SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Belt Loops

Viewed 5587 times
Posted by: Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Y starstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/13/08 3:14 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This tip provides for belt loops which are completely sewn by machine with all raw edges enclosed neatly, and without any visible bar tacks.

I have a photo tutorial on my Flickr page, starting with this picture. Just click through. If you have questions, let me know.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


28 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Oh my gosh, Kay, you've just saved me from "trying to turn a denim tube" hell. :D Thank you!! (P.S. Oops, with denim they're a bit too heavy, but I'll definitely use this technique on lighter fabrics.)
6/26/11 4:42 PM
JoJo Sews said...
Brilliant! Thank you, will be trying these on my next project.
6/26/09 8:24 AM
dlabanca said...
excellent pictures and text! thank you...i followed them to a 't' and my loops came out beautiful!
2/18/09 11:53 PM
LAHNEH said...
AHA! GOTTA DO IT THIS WAY FROM NOW ON! SUPER DOOPER HELPER!
1/31/09 4:13 PM
vikinghus140 said...
Excellent!
1/28/09 12:49 PM
CarolSews said...
What a great way to do belt loops.
1/27/09 12:47 PM
Iowastitcher said...
Great technique. I will give it a try. (And I am so in awe of the perfection I noted in your other sewing techniques on that garment)
1/27/09 10:04 AM
Iloverowing said...
This is the kind of accurancy and meticulous attention to detail at every step that I strive for (and am still trying to achieve) in my own sewing. I just love how neat the process is and how beautiful a result finished product! Beautiful!! Thank you for the great pictures & instructions.
1/27/09 9:16 AM
newlywedws said...
I utilised this tip - though modified- in a pair of trousers I made for my husband...thank you for a great tutorial!
12/12/08 1:57 AM
Nancy K said...
Another one of your tutorials bookmarked! Do you have any more?
11/11/08 6:33 PM
Yvonski said...
Great tip, neatest looking belt loops I've ever seen. Thanks
11/2/08 3:31 AM
Franko said...
Excellent tutorial it really helped me Thank YOU
7/31/08 8:31 PM
o3b said...
Wow! I'm so glad I stumbled across your reviews. You have posted such useful tips.
7/29/08 5:31 PM
jbsew said...
great detail. Thanks for the step by step explanation.
7/26/08 7:27 AM
marykpfist said...
Fabulous!
7/25/08 11:25 PM
BlackBeauty said...
I know it is too much to ask.Is it possible to post a copy of the same tutorial in another site.Flickr and Orkut are just some of the sites blocked in this country. Thanks
7/22/08 2:12 PM
Catbird said...
Thank you for this!
7/14/08 4:05 PM
Karine said...
Thank you for the fantastic tutorial. The photos are so clear, close-up, and helpful. I love the double-stitched ends to the belt loop that fully encases the raw edges.
7/14/08 2:05 PM
PoppyB said...
Great use of Flikr! Really helpful way to illustrate a very good tip. Thank you>
7/14/08 6:35 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great tip and tutorial. I love that they are attached to the completed garment as I almost always forget to include them when attaching the waistband!
7/14/08 6:30 AM
petro said...
I do something similar, but like the idea of stitching down the loop first, so as to control the raw edge end whilst getting the machine in to that tricky bit of stitching under the loop. Thanks, one for the notebook!
7/14/08 6:03 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks! The pants turned out great also.
7/14/08 1:21 AM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you! Just what I needed. Finishing so neat, the way I like it.
7/14/08 0:27 AM
anncie1 said...
WOW! LUV IT! Now if I could just get off this website and make some jeans. . .
7/14/08 0:00 AM
cgHipp said...
Excellent tutorial - the photos and instructions are very clear!
7/13/08 8:26 PM
Susan M said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for the tip.
7/13/08 5:41 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great tutorial and photos. Thanks for sharing the process.
7/13/08 4:02 PM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW- Thanks for the great tutorial.I want to run out an make belt looks right now! Thanks for taking the time to share.
7/13/08 4:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.