SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Belt Loops

Viewed 5441 times
Posted by: Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Y starstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 270 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/13/08 3:14 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This tip provides for belt loops which are completely sewn by machine with all raw edges enclosed neatly, and without any visible bar tacks.

I have a photo tutorial on my Flickr page, starting with this picture. Just click through. If you have questions, let me know.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


28 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
WOW- Thanks for the great tutorial.I want to run out an make belt looks right now! Thanks for taking the time to share.
7/13/08 4:01 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great tutorial and photos. Thanks for sharing the process.
7/13/08 4:02 PM
Susan M said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for the tip.
7/13/08 5:41 PM
cgHipp said...
Excellent tutorial - the photos and instructions are very clear!
7/13/08 8:26 PM
anncie1 said...
WOW! LUV IT! Now if I could just get off this website and make some jeans. . .
7/14/08 0:00 AM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you! Just what I needed. Finishing so neat, the way I like it.
7/14/08 0:27 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks! The pants turned out great also.
7/14/08 1:21 AM
petro said...
I do something similar, but like the idea of stitching down the loop first, so as to control the raw edge end whilst getting the machine in to that tricky bit of stitching under the loop. Thanks, one for the notebook!
7/14/08 6:03 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great tip and tutorial. I love that they are attached to the completed garment as I almost always forget to include them when attaching the waistband!
7/14/08 6:30 AM
PoppyB said...
Great use of Flikr! Really helpful way to illustrate a very good tip. Thank you>
7/14/08 6:35 AM
Karine said...
Thank you for the fantastic tutorial. The photos are so clear, close-up, and helpful. I love the double-stitched ends to the belt loop that fully encases the raw edges.
7/14/08 2:05 PM
Catbird said...
Thank you for this!
7/14/08 4:05 PM
BlackBeauty said...
I know it is too much to ask.Is it possible to post a copy of the same tutorial in another site.Flickr and Orkut are just some of the sites blocked in this country. Thanks
7/22/08 2:12 PM
marykpfist said...
Fabulous!
7/25/08 11:25 PM
jbsew said...
great detail. Thanks for the step by step explanation.
7/26/08 7:27 AM
o3b said...
Wow! I'm so glad I stumbled across your reviews. You have posted such useful tips.
7/29/08 5:31 PM
Franko said...
Excellent tutorial it really helped me Thank YOU
7/31/08 8:31 PM
Yvonski said...
Great tip, neatest looking belt loops I've ever seen. Thanks
11/2/08 3:31 AM
Nancy K said...
Another one of your tutorials bookmarked! Do you have any more?
11/11/08 6:33 PM
newlywedws said...
I utilised this tip - though modified- in a pair of trousers I made for my husband...thank you for a great tutorial!
12/12/08 1:57 AM
Iloverowing said...
This is the kind of accurancy and meticulous attention to detail at every step that I strive for (and am still trying to achieve) in my own sewing. I just love how neat the process is and how beautiful a result finished product! Beautiful!! Thank you for the great pictures & instructions.
1/27/09 9:16 AM
Iowastitcher said...
Great technique. I will give it a try. (And I am so in awe of the perfection I noted in your other sewing techniques on that garment)
1/27/09 10:04 AM
CarolSews said...
What a great way to do belt loops.
1/27/09 12:47 PM
vikinghus140 said...
Excellent!
1/28/09 12:49 PM
LAHNEH said...
AHA! GOTTA DO IT THIS WAY FROM NOW ON! SUPER DOOPER HELPER!
1/31/09 4:13 PM
dlabanca said...
excellent pictures and text! thank you...i followed them to a 't' and my loops came out beautiful!
2/18/09 11:53 PM
JoJo Sews said...
Brilliant! Thank you, will be trying these on my next project.
6/26/09 8:24 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh my gosh, Kay, you've just saved me from "trying to turn a denim tube" hell. :D Thank you!! (P.S. Oops, with denim they're a bit too heavy, but I'll definitely use this technique on lighter fabrics.)
6/26/11 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.