Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Belt Loops (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5325 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Posted by: Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Y starstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/13/08 3:14 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This tip provides for belt loops which are completely sewn by machine with all raw edges enclosed neatly, and without any visible bar tacks.

I have a photo tutorial on my Flickr page, starting with this picture. Just click through. If you have questions, let me know.
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
WOW- Thanks for the great tutorial.I want to run out an make belt looks right now! Thanks for taking the time to share.
7/13/08 4:01 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great tutorial and photos. Thanks for sharing the process.
7/13/08 4:02 PM
Susan M said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for the tip.
7/13/08 5:41 PM
cgHipp said...
Excellent tutorial - the photos and instructions are very clear!
7/13/08 8:26 PM
anncie1 said...
WOW! LUV IT! Now if I could just get off this website and make some jeans. . .
7/14/08 0:00 AM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you! Just what I needed. Finishing so neat, the way I like it.
7/14/08 0:27 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks! The pants turned out great also.
7/14/08 1:21 AM
petro said...
I do something similar, but like the idea of stitching down the loop first, so as to control the raw edge end whilst getting the machine in to that tricky bit of stitching under the loop. Thanks, one for the notebook!
7/14/08 6:03 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great tip and tutorial. I love that they are attached to the completed garment as I almost always forget to include them when attaching the waistband!
7/14/08 6:30 AM
PoppyB said...
Great use of Flikr! Really helpful way to illustrate a very good tip. Thank you>
7/14/08 6:35 AM
Karine said...
Thank you for the fantastic tutorial. The photos are so clear, close-up, and helpful. I love the double-stitched ends to the belt loop that fully encases the raw edges.
7/14/08 2:05 PM
Catbird said...
Thank you for this!
7/14/08 4:05 PM
BlackBeauty said...
I know it is too much to ask.Is it possible to post a copy of the same tutorial in another site.Flickr and Orkut are just some of the sites blocked in this country. Thanks
7/22/08 2:12 PM
marykpfist said...
Fabulous!
7/25/08 11:25 PM
jbsew said...
great detail. Thanks for the step by step explanation.
7/26/08 7:27 AM
o3b said...
Wow! I'm so glad I stumbled across your reviews. You have posted such useful tips.
7/29/08 5:31 PM
Franko said...
Excellent tutorial it really helped me Thank YOU
7/31/08 8:31 PM
Yvonski said...
Great tip, neatest looking belt loops I've ever seen. Thanks
11/2/08 3:31 AM
Nancy K said...
Another one of your tutorials bookmarked! Do you have any more?
11/11/08 6:33 PM
newlywedws said...
I utilised this tip - though modified- in a pair of trousers I made for my husband...thank you for a great tutorial!
12/12/08 1:57 AM
Iloverowing said...
This is the kind of accurancy and meticulous attention to detail at every step that I strive for (and am still trying to achieve) in my own sewing. I just love how neat the process is and how beautiful a result finished product! Beautiful!! Thank you for the great pictures & instructions.
1/27/09 9:16 AM
Iowastitcher said...
Great technique. I will give it a try. (And I am so in awe of the perfection I noted in your other sewing techniques on that garment)
1/27/09 10:04 AM
CarolSews said...
What a great way to do belt loops.
1/27/09 12:47 PM
vikinghus140 said...
Excellent!
1/28/09 12:49 PM
LAHNEH said...
AHA! GOTTA DO IT THIS WAY FROM NOW ON! SUPER DOOPER HELPER!
1/31/09 4:13 PM
dlabanca said...
excellent pictures and text! thank you...i followed them to a 't' and my loops came out beautiful!
2/18/09 11:53 PM
JoJo Sews said...
Brilliant! Thank you, will be trying these on my next project.
6/26/09 8:24 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh my gosh, Kay, you've just saved me from "trying to turn a denim tube" hell. :D Thank you!! (P.S. Oops, with denim they're a bit too heavy, but I'll definitely use this technique on lighter fabrics.)
6/26/11 4:42 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us