SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Avoidance

Viewed 5292 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/14/08 9:53 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have finally figured out that avoidance can be a good thing in many situations. I am currently making several summer tops in one particular pattern. It has a shirt tail hem which is not all that easy to make look good. It fights you a bit. AFter the 5th top, it occurred to me that I should have just made a straight hem and avoided the fight. There are many instances where taking the simpler route makes sense. In the same vein, I have learned to use the simplest of patterns. I would normally just pick out something I like regardless of it's complexities.
I'm certain this is not a novel concept to most but I'm certain that there are others like me, who need to be told "KEEP IT SIMPLE!" I wish someone had told me...I'm sure someone has.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Excellent advice. I always try to simplify my patterns by eliminating fussy, unflattering, or hard to execute details. Some details are needed for the look and fit of the garment but others can easily be eliminated. I like streamlined clothes and prefer to focus my energy on creating a sleek, professional garment.
7/14/08 10:20 AM
NanJones said...
I , too, could not do shirt tails, so make all my blouses straight. My daughter, OTOH, makes beautiful shirt tails. I am so jealous.
7/14/08 2:24 PM
Patzee said...
Well said!
7/15/08 1:29 AM
annsew65 said...
Ryansmum, You need to get Louise Cuttings pattern, The Perfect Blouse. It is full of excellent tips on making shirts and there is one of doing shirt tail hems. First serge the edge cutting off just the whiskers. Turn up just that serging and sew this serging down, making it just as narrow as you can. Then turn up the hem again and stitch down. This hem never curls and always looks good. I'm probably leaving out something here, but she has lots of other great hints on the details of making a shirt.
7/15/08 3:22 AM
Fran G said...
Good advice!
7/15/08 7:06 AM
bluefly said...
I agree. I purchased Threads trench coat pattern and after avoiding making it, I have decided to sew a much easier plain 3/4 length coat out of the same micro fiber.
7/15/08 11:37 AM
Sewingmi said...
Very good point! Nice to hear someone else feels this way too!
7/15/08 1:17 PM
Winifred said...
Yes to everything mentioned. I can spend a whole lot of time on a detail that I dont really like !!! Just because its in the pattern!!!
7/15/08 5:16 PM
glenj said...
there is a reason why sayings like"the simple things in life are often the best"exist.If a simple step can replace a complicated one without changing the integrity of the garment i always go for it. at work one of the first things my trainer said to me was "follow the KISS principal"(Keep It Simple Stupid) she may have been blunt,but it works
7/17/08 9:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.