SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy Gathers

Viewed 5374 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/03 12:04 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
comocosews said...
I agree, this works very well.
4/30/03 11:03 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Ann, I just love to look at your lovely creations and this dental floss technique is a favorite-so many uses for dental floss, even sewing a chicken! LOL! Anyway, here's how ruffling was taught back in the 1920's: http://www.vintagesewing.info/1920s/26-FCM/FCM-07.htm (the originating site is http://www.vintagesewing.info and this lesson is part of a 56 chapter dressmaking course from that time.) Enjoy!
4/30/03 11:24 PM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
Nancy Zieman uses a similar trick, pulling up the bobbin thread with a first stitch, then pulling top and bottom threads to length and zig-zagging over them, using the pulled out threads as you are using the floss. When you are running low on bobbin, and ruffling uses a lot anyway, this would be a much better option - if you keep a good bit of floss handy!
5/22/03 9:59 PM
Ann C said...
I learned this one a long time ago from Sandra Betzina's HGTV show and it works well. Cuts down on worries over the gathering threads breaking.
6/12/03 10:56 PM
Diana M said...
I just "learned" that this is way easier if you work with the wrong side of the fabric up -- different for me since I've usually pulled the bobbin threads for gathering. Great tip!
5/4/04 3:49 AM
alicia said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you!! This saved me when I was doing my daughters' flower girl dress (Vogue 7681) for my cousins' wedding - I had to gather the liner, underskirt and overskirt to attach to the bodice and was pulling my hair out trying to do it the "regular" way w/2 lines of stitching. I am so grateful for this forum. I used a heavy-duty thread I have for canvas and leatherwork since I didn't have tooth floss handy - worked nicely. THANKS!!
6/18/04 8:38 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Hey Ann- I had always heard of doing this over twine, and never had twine, so never tried it. Dental floss is a great idea! Why didn't I think of that?
1/8/05 10:26 AM
Quazeekat Designs - Barb said...
What a terrific idea. I am making some girls' dresses with a layers of ruffles. It's been sooooo long since I have done this, I needed a refresher course! Thank You! Barb
2/14/05 11:58 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Genius idea, Ann, and one that I use every time my gathering foot lets me down!
5/31/05 5:53 PM
kellyhogaboom said...
I was going to post this tip myself, but did a search to see if it had been posted. It is a great tip and easier than it sounds - the floss kinda feeds itself right down the middle! I have found it saves time and yes, is easier on the fabric. Thanks for posting!
6/26/05 5:54 PM
Tailypo said...
Anne, I am planning on doing some gathers on a dress this evening and stumbled upon this tip quite by accident this morning -- thanks for saving me a big headache! (The pattern I am using is vintage and recommends using buttonhole twist in the bobbin, which I thought was clever -- but not as clever as this!)
8/12/06 12:46 PM
Shazza B said...
If you have a cording foot on your machine this is even easier. Just put the dental floss/cording through the centre guide and you don't have to worry about accidentally stitching through it.
1/16/07 9:06 AM
regine said...
I have just used your tip and it is brilliant, thank you very much.
4/26/07 12:46 PM
aniquecreatives said...
absolutely brilliant!! an eye-opener
8/30/07 9:16 AM
Klinkerpopper said...
I tried this out today and it worked like a charm! It was the easiest gathering I have ever done! Finally a use for the Costco size box dental floss I bought a year ago.
10/17/07 3:42 AM
tanroc75 said...
Thanks a bunch for this tip! Gathering has become not so favorite to me! The double row of stitching tends to break and I am left with sewing and resewing the double rows again and again! I am definately going to try this.
7/3/09 9:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.