SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > shaped waistband

Viewed 5844 times
Posted by: petro
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petro starstarstar
France
Member since: 6/24/07
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/21/08 4:26 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you like shaped waistbands for trousers this may be of interest. In order to reduce the bulk at the end of the waistband, you can change the pattern slightly. Elongate the top band pattern at the cf by a couple of inches, and reduce the under band pattern by the same amount. The top piece is folded back and the seam displaced to a couple of inches back from the end.
This reduces the bulk where the waistband overlaps for the fastening and makes it easier to get a neat end. The band now finishes in a fold, instead of a seam.
the photo shows the top waistband pattern piece underneath the under waistband pattern piece. I've folded the top waistband piece where it will be folded when made up, so as to show that it lines up with the underwaistband piece. This pattern is for a waistband which has a centre back seam, so I've shown the right side pieces only. cb seam is to your right as you look at the photo, fold to the left, seams are shown with notches. You can see that the seam joining the top and under waistband pieces is not now at the end, where it clutters up the fastenings, but part way towards the side seam, on the inside (under) waistband. Effectively the top waistband piece has a bit of the under waistband added to it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
BJ1400 said...
Good idea!
7/21/08 5:46 PM
marykpfist said...
What is cf-is it centerfold? This seems like a great idea, but I'm not clear on the directions.
7/22/08 9:17 AM
yorkshire lass said...
What a wonderful idea, thank you.
7/22/08 10:30 AM
Joann Eidhoff said...
The idea is terrific. Unfortunately I just cut my contoured waistband before reading about how to "do it better". I'll remember for the next one and think of you then. Thanks for the great idea!
7/22/08 11:56 AM
Peggym said...
I am having difficulty in following this. Can you expand.
7/22/08 5:40 PM
ionep said...
I had to read it twice, but it makes sense and I will be sure to try it next time I make pants or skirt with the shaped waistband.
7/22/08 7:05 PM
Larkin said...
This is a great idea!!!! Especially for those waistbands that are deep and you want to use more than one button or snap - it moves the bulk of the seam into the body of the waistband. I tried to draw a picture - see if it helps: click here. Did I get it right? I can't wait to try this one! Thanks!!!!
7/22/08 9:15 PM
petro said...
markypfist cf is centre front. A shaped waistband is usually a gentle curved shape, the top edge being shorter than the bottom edge, so you have 2 pieces, a top waistband piece and an underband piece. If you cut these identical, the end has seams at right angles to each other, to be clipped and turned in. This gives you umpteen layers of fabric, especially as you are overlapping the right side over the left for a fastening. If you lop a bit off the underband pattern at the end, and stick the same amount to the end of the top band, you can have the top band fold back at the end, and seam it to the underband a couple of inches back. Less bulk. Especially good if you're working thick fabrics like velour. I hope that clarifies a bit.
7/23/08 1:44 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Petro, thanks for this. I have trouble making nice button holes because of all the bulk in the way. I will try this on my next pair of pants, I am sure the button holes will be much easier.
7/23/08 9:14 PM
Big Dog said...
What a clever idea, I will have to try it.
8/11/08 7:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.