SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Hate to Hem?

Viewed 5235 times
Posted by: shesflipped
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About shesflipped star
MI USA
Member since: 10/16/07
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/25/08 8:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I hate to hem! I may have a garment finished, but hate hemming so much it sits undone for awhile.
I learned this tip from Wendy Mullins book on sewing with knits. I've used it several times, and has worked very well for me!
Wendy hems the front and back pieces of a dress or top BEFORE sewing the side seams! It's very easy to do, as the pieces are laying flat. It doesn't 'feel' like hemming! I have also noticed that it seems to make the garment lay better~ the hem is caught in the side seam making it easier to press, instead of one continuous hem, which, in my opinion is hard to get even all the way around.
I hope this helps some one! It's really worked well for me!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
wendlesue said...
I use this technique on sleeves a lot, not so much on bottom hems, just a personal preference. But I am all for saving time and making things easier! Perfection is not always my goal. Sometimes, shortcuts meet my goals better. Just have to know when to go for that perfect finish! So, GREAT TIP!
8/2/08 11:13 AM
shesflipped said...
God Bless You, Joey in Katy! As a fairly new sewer, I was kind of nervous to post a 'Tip'! after reading the rating & comments, I have regretted posting this. The LAST thing I would want to do is to hinder someone's sewing process. Thanks for reading this & for your comment.
7/31/08 2:58 PM
Joey in Katy said...
How in the world could anyone consider this tip "off-topic"?
7/30/08 11:41 PM
petro said...
Its worth practising with your invisible hemmer foot and the double needle technique for knits, if you don't have a coverstitch machine, also rolled hems and lettuce hems. Doing practice on rough stuff reduces the nervous feeling that its going to go wrong you get when hemming up your otherwise perfect garment. Counsel of perfection is to do practise pieces before starting the garment (who ever does this?)
7/26/08 3:17 AM
anncie1 said...
Here's what I do - figure out the amount of your finished hem - say 1" Mark it on your stitch plate (if it's not there). Stitch the garment all the way around. Fold up to your stitched line, press, tuck the exces fabric down to the crease, pin and WALA! Even seam all the way around. This works for large and narrow hems.
7/26/08 2:01 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thanks for your opinion Newlywed.Leaving the last 2 inches is also an other thing I tried but as you suggested it wasn't a good idea either. I thinkI might just stick to ironing it or maybe I'll use steam a seam and leave the last couple of inches free, sew sides then do a final press on the steam a seam. That might work!
7/26/08 1:47 AM
newlywedws said...
I have previously utilised this method and IMHO I think it looks tacky, sloppy as well as amateur. The only way I would suggest using this method, is if the side seam has a vent (slit) at the bottom, where the side seam will be folded, to encase each separate hem edge to give a professional look. Other than that, if you are "set" on using this technique, an idea might be to start each hem seperately, but leave about 2" free on each end, that way after sewing the side seams, you'll still be able to to finish the hem w/o too much work.
7/25/08 6:08 PM
ryansmumAria said...
In the past I have tried this but I wasn't so sure I like the way the side seams ended. If I recall correctly, sometimes it showed. What do you think? HOwever, it seemed like such a GREAT idea. Instead, I ended up just ironing up the hems and that was a bit of an improvement. I would really like to know if someone has done this technique and was happy with the results and somehow made it look good. If it worked, I would LOVE to do it, seems so much easier!
7/25/08 2:53 PM
kellymailinglist said...
I'm trying this today with a Burda knit tee. Thanks for the tip -- Wish me luck!
7/25/08 10:00 AM
nancy2001 said...
It's great you found a good technique that works for you. I think this trick will also help many people.
7/25/08 8:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.