SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > perfectly fused interfacing

Viewed 5269 times
Posted by: julie w
photo

 
 
About julie w star
WA Australia
Member since: 12/25/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/30/08 9:39 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For years I have had varied results with iron on interfacing. I've always blamed the type/brand of interfacing
Lots of you may already know this but after reading a recent issue of Australian Stitches Magazine, I decided to give Martyn Smith's instructions a try. He says to keep all moisture away from fusible interfacing.
Do not use steam.
Do not use an iron that has recently used steam.
Do not use on a damp ironing board that you have recently been doing the ironing on; a hard surface is better.
My first attempt was to take the cover and padding of the ironing board and use the iron without steam. The interfacing didn't adhere too well.
My second attempt of using an old spare iron on the kitchen workbench covered with a folded sheet got great results. This is how I shall fuse interfacing in the future and hope this tip helps those, who like me didn't know it!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
iSewQuiltArt said...
This is interesting...I would think that if you preshrink the interfacing then dry fuse if the glue can be activated with heat and pressure, and time, that steam might not be needed and there should be no bubbling. Don't we all hate the dreaded bubbles? What is interesting is that some fabrics and fibres progressively shrink, so there shouldn't be problems if both fashion fabric and interfacing are preshrunk before fusing and there is no steam used in fusing. Maybe they behave better as one after the first initial shrinking? I will have to dig out the number of stitches and see if I have that issue- being an earlier one I am not sure if I will or not. Thanks for sharing!
10/29/11 11:32 PM
Joni2 said...
Based on your tip, I covered a large old cutting board with cotton batting and muslin, and it works great! I can put it on my ironing board for other pressing, too. Thanks.
10/27/08 3:41 PM
julie w said...
Tere Sews, hope you don't mind, but just had to use that great bread board idea!
8/23/08 7:27 PM
TexasPat said...
I never knew this; had always used steam. Never again. Thanks for sharing.
8/15/08 11:19 PM
Waage said...
This tip is helpfull for me as a beginner. Thanks!
8/12/08 7:02 AM
julie w said...
In the past I have pre-shrank interfacing by dipping them in cool water (still folded so as not to crease) and hung them over the shower screen to drip dry. Whoops!! I didn't think of it on this project.
8/1/08 1:47 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Interesting! I'll try it. I always thought it was my newbie-ness or buying the wrong type/brand. Although that could still play a big part!
7/31/08 12:26 PM
TheSewingGirl said...
What? No steam???? I will be giving your tip a try. Thank you for posting this.
7/31/08 10:11 AM
Cherr said...
But then what happens when you wash it. Does it shrink after the fact? Should those interfacings be pre-shrunk? Just dipped in water perhaps?
7/31/08 8:58 AM
julie w said...
Tere Sews, I like that bread board idea.
7/31/08 8:50 AM
Tere Sews said...
I recently took an oversized bread board, covered it with thin cotton batting and a piece of muslin. It is great for adhering interfacing as it provides a very hard surface...unlike my spongy ironing board surface. And you can refreshen the surface with a new piece of muslin.
7/31/08 8:45 AM
woole bully said...
i will try this technique. in the past, i have had varying results with fuseable interfacing too.
7/31/08 8:01 AM
julie w said...
The article was in volume 16 no 4 of Australian Stitches.
7/31/08 4:23 AM
mommietothree0 said...
Which issue of Stitches was that in? I'd like to read more about it. Don't the manufactures of that stuff say to use steam? Great tip. Thanks
7/31/08 2:27 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Thanks for the tip, I will try a day iron, mostly each time I use iron on it comes apart on the edges.
7/30/08 5:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.