SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Smocking/origami

Viewed 6169 times
Posted by: wendlesue
photo

 
 
About wendlesue starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/08 1:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is a smocking technique I first saw in Shinta's wardrobe contest entry (2008). Shinta made a polka dot maternity top with smocked band. I looked all over the internet trying to find something that looked like it might be close, but came up empty handed.

Soooooooo.... using Shinta's detailed photos, I played around a bit and figured out how to do this myself. It is really quite simple and fun. One side of the work takes on the look of woven strips of fabric, and the other side forms a complex tessellating pattern of diamonds and alternating pleats. It is really quite magical.

read Shinta's review

link to my photo tutorial

Let me know if you have any questions, but the pictures should be pretty easy to follow i hope.

Enjoy!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
rebija said...
I can't believe I just found your tutorial. I saw Shinta's beautiful top also, and couldn't find anything on the internet. Thank you so much!
12/24/08 9:39 AM
wendlesue said...
Actually, it was the polkadots on shinta's top that gave me the clues on how the smocking stitch would go. She has 4 different colors of dots, that all come together to one point when the stitch is made. Otherwise I would have never been able to figure it out!
8/13/08 10:32 AM
BeckyMc said...
Very, very cool. I saw the maternity top by Shinta too, and wndered how on earth that was done. Your tutorial is so clear and easy to understand. But how did you figure it out on your own? Impressive.
8/9/08 0:07 AM
Irene said...
Thank you for a clear tutorial that I'll be able to find easily!
8/5/08 6:20 PM
carlton said...
many thanks for your generosity jane
8/5/08 5:18 PM
sewtime said...
This is very cool, good on both sides. Thanks for the tutorial on this!
8/5/08 3:21 PM
snapdragonfly said...
I love both sides, now to find a garment to show it off!
8/5/08 8:30 AM
Nancy K said...
Great tutorial. Have you used it on clothing yet? It really is simple after seeing your tutorial. Thanks.
8/5/08 8:25 AM
wendlesue said...
Actually, the "back" is my favorite side. And there are no threads showing on that side at all, so it could easily be the "front".
8/4/08 9:48 PM
j222b said...
The back of the smocking is lovely, too. Do you think the back of the smocking could be used on the front of the garment? or am I not seeing something?
8/4/08 4:51 PM
wendlesue said...
All of the dots get sewn in groups of 4. You sew one group of 4, then break your thread and move to the next group of 4. So, no dots get skipped.
8/4/08 12:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very interesting. Thanks for the info.
8/4/08 10:15 AM
marykpfist said...
oops--duplicate
8/4/08 8:40 AM
marykpfist said...
Very cool! Do you sew each row of connecting dots- or it looks like maybe you skipped a row in the middle?
8/4/08 8:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.