SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Smocking/origami

Viewed 6017 times
Posted by: wendlesue
photo

 
 
About wendlesue starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/08 1:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is a smocking technique I first saw in Shinta's wardrobe contest entry (2008). Shinta made a polka dot maternity top with smocked band. I looked all over the internet trying to find something that looked like it might be close, but came up empty handed.

Soooooooo.... using Shinta's detailed photos, I played around a bit and figured out how to do this myself. It is really quite simple and fun. One side of the work takes on the look of woven strips of fabric, and the other side forms a complex tessellating pattern of diamonds and alternating pleats. It is really quite magical.

read Shinta's review

link to my photo tutorial

Let me know if you have any questions, but the pictures should be pretty easy to follow i hope.

Enjoy!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
Very cool! Do you sew each row of connecting dots- or it looks like maybe you skipped a row in the middle?
8/4/08 8:40 AM
marykpfist said...
oops--duplicate
8/4/08 8:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very interesting. Thanks for the info.
8/4/08 10:15 AM
wendlesue said...
All of the dots get sewn in groups of 4. You sew one group of 4, then break your thread and move to the next group of 4. So, no dots get skipped.
8/4/08 12:10 PM
j222b said...
The back of the smocking is lovely, too. Do you think the back of the smocking could be used on the front of the garment? or am I not seeing something?
8/4/08 4:51 PM
wendlesue said...
Actually, the "back" is my favorite side. And there are no threads showing on that side at all, so it could easily be the "front".
8/4/08 9:48 PM
Nancy K said...
Great tutorial. Have you used it on clothing yet? It really is simple after seeing your tutorial. Thanks.
8/5/08 8:25 AM
snapdragonfly said...
I love both sides, now to find a garment to show it off!
8/5/08 8:30 AM
sewtime said...
This is very cool, good on both sides. Thanks for the tutorial on this!
8/5/08 3:21 PM
carlton said...
many thanks for your generosity jane
8/5/08 5:18 PM
Irene said...
Thank you for a clear tutorial that I'll be able to find easily!
8/5/08 6:20 PM
BeckyMc said...
Very, very cool. I saw the maternity top by Shinta too, and wndered how on earth that was done. Your tutorial is so clear and easy to understand. But how did you figure it out on your own? Impressive.
8/9/08 0:07 AM
wendlesue said...
Actually, it was the polkadots on shinta's top that gave me the clues on how the smocking stitch would go. She has 4 different colors of dots, that all come together to one point when the stitch is made. Otherwise I would have never been able to figure it out!
8/13/08 10:32 AM
rebija said...
I can't believe I just found your tutorial. I saw Shinta's beautiful top also, and couldn't find anything on the internet. Thank you so much!
12/24/08 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.