SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Crayons for tracing patterns

Viewed 5252 times
Posted by: Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Teeavilnor star
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/7/08 4:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have been trying to find a pencil, or marker or something that doean't bleed through when I trace my patterns. I love Nancy's Notions Pattern Tracing Material. Because it is very thin but very strong and the best as for seeing through. But everything I tried bleeds though and marks up my patterns. And pencils don't cut it. Can hardly see them. Well I have found the perfect thing, and it has been in my house for years. Crayons. The perfect marker doesn't bleed through and very visible, and any color you want. And inexpensive. I found Crayola Jels to work the best for me.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
I like to use Crayola crayon-pencils.
8/7/08 8:36 PM
vasallese said...
Thank you, had not thought of them, since I do not have children.
8/8/08 11:41 AM
newlywedws said...
What a cool idea, and you could use assorted colours if needed to trace different sizes!
8/8/08 12:29 PM
Renee' S said...
I use Crayola twistable colored pencils. They're inexpensive, you get different colors, they don't bleed through and best of all they don't have to sharpened. You just twist the end and you have more lead.
8/9/08 10:59 AM
Peggy said...
Great Idea thanks for sharing
8/10/08 3:47 PM
Merry G said...
What are crayola jels?
8/11/08 7:05 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Crayola jels are crayons they made a couple of years ago a very smooth crayon. But I don't see them sold anymore.
8/12/08 9:08 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I like the Twistables, too!
8/12/08 12:43 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for this great tip, Love this idea!
8/20/08 2:24 PM
monijo said...
This is a good tip in general. However, tracing and altering patterns using INK can lead one to the brink of lunacy. I now use mechanical lead pencils and colored pencils whose marks can easily be removed using an erasing shield. An erasing shield is available in art stores. I purchased mine at the University of Washington bookstore. In fact, I found a lot of tools there that can be used for sewing: a wide range of colored and lead pencils; erasers; angles; Fairgate rulers. Also, there are fine-line correction pens if you must use ink. There is tag board in different weights that can be used to make measuring guides.
8/31/08 1:54 PM
Donna Johnson said...
I am new to sewing, sort of. I thought you just pinned the pattern to the fabric and started cutting. Do you also trace around the fabric?
2/28/09 11:48 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Reply to Donna Johnson: I pin my pattern to pattern tracing material, trace out the size and all the marking etc. Then cut out the tracing. I then pin the fabric to the tracing I have just made and then cut. I do not cut my master pattern. If you do you loose the other sizes and have buy a new pattern.
3/1/09 9:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.