Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pad stitching (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5150 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Posted by: velosewer
photo
Friend of PR
About velosewer starstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 309
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/11/08 7:49 AM
Last Updated: 8/27/10 3:53 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Pad stitching using a sewing machine saves time if your taught to do sew collars on by hand. The other effect is that your collar retains its shape so if you want extend the life of a jacket by shortening it, you know it will still look great.
Make sure you follow the neck curve, usually found on the pattern piece and then just keep sewing in the neckline space until there's no more space to sew.
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
any chance of pictures? or beefing up the explanation a bit, I'm not following this at all.
8/11/08 7:54 AM
Elle D said...
Thanks for sharing this technique. It looks very interesting, and the close-up picture on your website (11 August 2008) really helps to clarify the technique. Beautiful collar in the full jacket photo. I too would like to learn more about this tip, would you considering doing a step by step tutorial? Regards, Elle
8/12/08 9:03 AM
petro said...
what is the address of the website, I'd like to look at the pictures?
8/12/08 11:09 AM
j222b said...
I'd like some more information on "pad stitching", too. I like your web site-you sew great!
8/12/08 12:10 PM
Susan M said...

8/15/08 9:35 PM
Susan M said...
FYI for those who can't find the picture; click on the camera icon above. The icon is next to the "Web site/URL:" title. Then on velosewer's blog go to August 11, 2008. Click the pictures to enlarge them. This is a cool trick I haven't seen before. Velosewer, you have many people who would love to see a step by step explanation including myself. Edited to add blogspot url: http://cleverthinking99.blogspot.com/
8/15/08 9:36 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us