SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pad stitching

Viewed 5297 times
Posted by: velosewer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About velosewer starstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 331
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 45 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/11/08 7:49 AM
Last Updated: 8/27/10 3:53 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Pad stitching using a sewing machine saves time if your taught to do sew collars on by hand. The other effect is that your collar retains its shape so if you want extend the life of a jacket by shortening it, you know it will still look great.
Make sure you follow the neck curve, usually found on the pattern piece and then just keep sewing in the neckline space until there's no more space to sew.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
any chance of pictures? or beefing up the explanation a bit, I'm not following this at all.
8/11/08 7:54 AM
Elle D said...
Thanks for sharing this technique. It looks very interesting, and the close-up picture on your website (11 August 2008) really helps to clarify the technique. Beautiful collar in the full jacket photo. I too would like to learn more about this tip, would you considering doing a step by step tutorial? Regards, Elle
8/12/08 9:03 AM
petro said...
what is the address of the website, I'd like to look at the pictures?
8/12/08 11:09 AM
j222b said...
I'd like some more information on "pad stitching", too. I like your web site-you sew great!
8/12/08 12:10 PM
Susan M said...

8/15/08 9:35 PM
Susan M said...
FYI for those who can't find the picture; click on the camera icon above. The icon is next to the "Web site/URL:" title. Then on velosewer's blog go to August 11, 2008. Click the pictures to enlarge them. This is a cool trick I haven't seen before. Velosewer, you have many people who would love to see a step by step explanation including myself. Edited to add blogspot url: http://cleverthinking99.blogspot.com/
8/15/08 9:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.