SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Video camera helps at fitting

Viewed 5267 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/2/03 9:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If you made a test muslin or garment for yourself and there is nobody around which can help you with the fitting use the video camera as a helper.
Put it on at automatic and set the video on a height where it can tape you as you walk,stand still,backsite,front,left and rigt side, move around, raise your arms let the vc do the job as your fitting-assistant.Watch the video and when you see fittingproblems push the pause button and describe the problems you see and make the necessary alterations.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Great idea! Just as video helps theatre students, this is a smart way to get a new view of yourself.
5/2/03 9:47 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Great idea! I don't have a video camera, but I have used the auto-timer on my regular camera to take pictures. It's amazing what you can see in the pictures which you don't see even if you are looking straight at it in the mirror.
5/3/03 0:13 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
What a great idea !! Now i just need to buy me one of them things.. I like this idea...
5/3/03 1:37 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
My small Intel PC camera that sits atop my computer monitor has just found another use! Thanks for the idea!
5/4/03 9:50 PM
Jill Giard said...
This is one of those head slapping "Why didn't I think of that" ideas. Thanks for the tip!
5/27/03 2:00 PM
Mojotee said...
Wonderful! I use my digital camera on tripod with remote and take stills, but now I have to try the video on same camera. Not all cameras have a remote and this would be sooo helpful. Thanks for the suggestion
3/29/07 5:02 PM
SewTwin said...
Great idea. I am going to check my cell phone camera..If I remember correctly from when I bought it that they have 20 seconds of video nowadays on cell phones. In-ter-est-ing idea, very techie!
4/4/07 2:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.