SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using Sew-In Interfacing for Facings and Collar

Viewed 5981 times
Posted by: Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1 starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/16/08 4:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
If you've tried using sew-in interfacing in the past for your facings or collar pieces and have been discouraged because of buckled or crinkled seams, then this tip might help you.

Instead of typing it all in here, I added a little tutorial to my Flickr page that shows a nice way of achieving smooth finishes and seams when using sew-in interfacing. If you click up there on the little camera icon where it says "Web site/Url," it'll take you to the correct page. Once you get there, my explanations are shown below the pictures, and you can just click on the next thumbnail picture to continue through the process. If you want to see something bigger, then you can click above any of the pictures on the "All Sizes" link, and it'll give you a choice of sizes for viewing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ClareinStitches said...
Great tutorial, Annnette1. Many thanks. Interfacings are a bug bear of mine, so I'll be glad to give these a go, especially the Collar technique.
8/17/08 8:06 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks for the rundown! I don't really like to use fusibles and have wondered how I might instead use sew-ins... great tutorial!
8/17/08 8:34 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for this tip. I've never tried sew-in interfacing, but this encourages me to try it.
8/17/08 12:58 PM
vasallese said...
Very good tutorial. Thank you very much. Have you tried using a temporary spray adhesive, especially if you do not want pin holes in nice fabrics?
8/19/08 12:17 PM
Karendee said...
Great information in an easy to digest form. Thanks!
8/22/08 5:06 PM
JBsewmonster said...
Thank you! I will definitely be using this tip in the future.
9/4/08 4:44 PM
Lisa p said...
Thanks for your tutorial , I have only used fusible so far as sew in seems scary . I will use it with confidence now I have read this.
10/16/09 3:11 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Great Tip, Annette! Thanks.
10/17/09 2:53 PM
Sew'n'go said...
Great slide tutorial! Thanks!
8/24/10 9:55 AM
fuddyduds said...
Thanks! This was helpful indeed. Nice job with the photos on Flickr.
1/23/11 11:55 AM
Calendria said...
thanx, now I just need to find out what to use for interfacings (sew -in).
7/23/12 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.