SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Bras that Fit

Illinois, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5461 times
Posted by: SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueV starstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
classes reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/17/08 2:16 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This was an all day class I took at the recent American Sewing Guild Conference in Chicago, Ill. I had heard numerous good things about this class/workshop and whenever it was near where I lived, it filled fast - too fast for me to sign up. So, when the ASG conference offered it, I jumped at it on the first day and kept my fingers cross that I got in.

What a great class. There were about 25 students and 6 instructors. We were divided up based on our bra needs. I was in the "basic" group as I didn't require any extras like power bars, uplift, or asymmetrical cup sizing. I'm kinda boring that way.

Here's how the class went. The night before the class we met Anne and her helpers to try on some samples and for measurements. She wrote down the needed measurements and bra requirements for each student then went back to her room where the bra fairies made our patterns! The next day we met in class where we were each given our custom made pattern, already cut out and ready to go. We also received our kit to make three bras.
We went step by step through the bra making process and no one left the class without a completed fitted bra! There were plenty of instructors to help everyone. And all instructors are extremely knowledgeable in every aspect of the bra making process.

I highly recommend this class if she is ever in your area. If she isn't, I'd sign her up and sign up 20 sewing friends to help split the cost. You will have the best pattern and instructions to make your bras for the rest of your life.
She will be coming to the Los Angeles area in February 2009 and I'm sure her class will fill up fast. I will take this again, and bring along a friend so she can get fitted for the bra while I sew it up for her. See my pattern and book review related to this class for more info on those.

this class is taught by Anne St. Claire and her assistants. You can get more information on her website listed above . If you email her directly she will respond with her schedule, etc. http://ndlnookfab.blogspot.com/
here's a list of her upcoming classes
Santa Rosa, Ca Feb 13 & 14, 2009
Los Angeles, Ca Feb 16, 17 & 18, 2009
San Diego, Ca Feb 20,21 & 22, 2009
Albany, NY April 24 & 252009

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
Who teaches this class, and how do you know which class it is or where she'll be? Nevermind, I just connected this with the book review you just wrote and got it figured out.
8/18/08 8:58 AM
christine A said...
If you are ever in Wichita Kansas, look Ann up at Needlenook Fabrics. I had a one on one class with her at her shop. It was wonderful.
8/18/08 12:03 PM
Bernie R. said...
I was at that conference and now I'm sorry I missed the class. It sounds wonderful. I will keep my eye out for it. Great details on what was presented in class. Thanks!
8/18/08 2:01 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi I only could imagine the joy of having 20 sewing friends.... that would be quite a blessing! Thanks for the web reference, I had googled for Anne with dismal results & will try your link. Great review
8/20/08 11:45 AM
SusanK said...
Several years ago, a sewing friend told me of her classes with Anne. She'd gone to Witchita (where Anne's shop is located) several times and loved having bras for most every occasion. It didn't take long for me to get on the bandwagon and go for my very own class with Anne. Wow!! Not only was it fun, but it was challenging and resulted in a perfectly-fitting bra. My life was revolutionized! I wholeheartedly echo Sue's recommendation. By all means go to Anne's class if it's offered in your area, or make an appointment with her in Witicha, KS. You won't regret a moment!!
8/21/08 11:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.