SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Piping - Trimming

Viewed 5339 times
Posted by: Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Fun starstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/20/08 9:21 PM
Last Updated: 7/19/12 9:59 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This is my own self-discovered tip.

One of the hardest parts of making your own piping is trimming the seam allowance to an exact width.

If you own two rotary cutting mats butt them up against each other. Now spread them apart slightly and push your piping in between the two mats so the cord is sitting in the groove. Place a quilting ruler over the top of the piping and cut to an exact width with a rotary cutter.

In the photo above, to cut 1cm wide allowances I lined up the 1cm mark on my quilting ruler with the stitching on my piping.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
tweedcurtain said...
Brilliant!
8/20/08 9:35 PM
Mittskitt said...
Super brilliant!!!
8/20/08 10:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Thank you, Belinda, I'll be using this most excellent tip. -Lily
8/21/08 0:21 AM
snapdragonfly said...
IS there a tips award scheme? I would like to nominate this tip right now! Perfect.
8/21/08 6:30 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! What a brilliant mind. I absolutely love it. Thanks. You need some type of award for this one...
8/21/08 10:14 AM
lorjoh1 said...
I am very new but really liked this tip thanks
9/9/08 9:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.