SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Piping - Trimming

Viewed 5377 times
Posted by: Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Fun starstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/20/08 9:21 PM
Last Updated: 7/19/12 9:59 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This is my own self-discovered tip.

One of the hardest parts of making your own piping is trimming the seam allowance to an exact width.

If you own two rotary cutting mats butt them up against each other. Now spread them apart slightly and push your piping in between the two mats so the cord is sitting in the groove. Place a quilting ruler over the top of the piping and cut to an exact width with a rotary cutter.

In the photo above, to cut 1cm wide allowances I lined up the 1cm mark on my quilting ruler with the stitching on my piping.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lorjoh1 said...
I am very new but really liked this tip thanks
9/9/08 9:24 PM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! What a brilliant mind. I absolutely love it. Thanks. You need some type of award for this one...
8/21/08 10:14 AM
snapdragonfly said...
IS there a tips award scheme? I would like to nominate this tip right now! Perfect.
8/21/08 6:30 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Thank you, Belinda, I'll be using this most excellent tip. -Lily
8/21/08 0:21 AM
Mittskitt said...
Super brilliant!!!
8/20/08 10:43 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Brilliant!
8/20/08 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.