SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Assuaging guilt of fabric/pattern stash

Viewed 5317 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/20/08 10:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For those of us who are fabric and pattern addicted and have mountains of both everywhere -DO NOT FEEL GUILTY, BAD OR OUT-OF-CONTROL. You DO NOT have too much fabric and patterns, what you do have is LOTS of choices! (let out a sigh of relief). You do not have to sew EVERY pattern or every piece of fabric purchased. You get to cherry-pick the best and eventually you will pass along any unselected fabric/patterns to some lucky person which counts as a good deed. It's all good.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Right on!
8/21/08 0:35 AM
Cherr said...
Amazing. I feel better and I haven't taken a stitch. This is the new way I will look at things from now on.
8/21/08 11:11 AM
bluefly said...
As prices go up and up, I'm grateful to have the choices in my stash. Thank you!
8/21/08 11:25 AM
Bernie R. said...
This is JUST what I needed to hear. My non-sewing husband/friends/family constantly comment on why I need so much fabric. I tell them a fabric habit is so much safer than a drug habit and it doesn't make me gain weight!
8/21/08 3:11 PM
Koushite said...
Thank you so much for voicing these comments. I agree with you entirely. I have a very extensive stash of fabrics and patterns and I refuse to feel guilty about it. I love having just what I need, to sew what I need, when I want it! Every piece I have was carefully considered and coordinated. My fabric is an investment in me and I'm so glad I have it. The colorways this fall are berry, purples, plums, camels, grey and black. I'm ready thanks to my stash! I think the big mistake is to discuss your stash with non-sewers or those who buy a piece at a time as cheap as they can find it. They don't get our passion for fabric and never will. Thankfully my husband has no problem with it, so I'm good to go!
8/26/08 1:12 PM
wendlesue said...
EXACTLY. Sew on!
9/12/08 2:42 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Feel guilty- me- never for having choices. People fret over stash being excessive yet think nothing of the mountains of garments in the closet from the mall some with tags attached still or the garage full of junk they display at their biannual yard sale which is for the purpose of clearing space so they can continue to recreational shop for even more junk. With all the fabrics almost gone in my area, I am thrilled to have choices. You are right not every thing you have must be used - it is ok to have things that you might want to use and to donate them when you decide you don't want them anymore just like the folks who buy scads of rtw and other junk and dump it at the Salvation Army when it is overwhelming. These are the types that mouth about fabric stashes the most I find. Most hobbyists I know have huge shops and mega amounts of equipment and supplies to do their projects so what is the big deal about a few closets of fabric /notions if you can spare the space. My friend is into pottery and has easily $50000 or more in her building and supplies. Let's don't even talk about the men with their shops and the hunting fans with their hobbies. Now if one lives where there is lots of sewing supply available , it might be obsessive but for those where none is available it is just resource material. You expressed how I feel beautifully. We should enjoy our collections guilt free.
9/25/08 2:33 PM
katie lynne said...
Man, did I need to hear that!
1/16/09 11:40 PM
AltaB said...
Phew, what a relief! I'm not alone after all, and I'm normal. Thanx. :)
4/19/09 4:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.