SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Janome Rotary Attachments fit the Ajustable Binder Foot

Viewed 5757 times
Posted by: Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Teeavilnor star
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/21/08 10:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When I ordered my Janome Sew Precise from Kens Sewing, I got a free Rotary Even Foot with it. I never used it until the other day I went to use it and it was broken. The little foot that goes around the foot was cut. So I used my regular even foot. But I did e-mail Kens Sewing. They said to send it to them and they would go to Janome and replace it. Well a couple of day later an e-mail said they couldn't it was out of warranty time. And would I like to order another one. I decided not. I felt they were made cheep and I could use my regular evenfoot. But after I thought what am I going to do with the attachments. Well as I was looking at them I noticed one looked exactly like my Adj Binder Foot . I took it out it was the same I played around with it, and to my surprise all the attachments fit the binder foot perfectly.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
WOW...glad to find this review, and all the info posted by everyone. I just saw this as included with the Sew Precise, and wondered what it was. Nifty. Sorry the reviewers was broken....good grief.
12/8/08 12:05 PM
MIMOSA said...
I got curious and found this info about the rotary even feed foot. It has little 'tracks' like a tank to move the fabric along. Have never seen anything like this before . Also has attachments to attach bindings. http://www.janome.co.uk/documents/JanomeNewsSpring2008.pdf
9/17/08 8:07 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I still couldn't understand why this foot was named 'rotary', so I went looking and found this description online..."The Rotary Even Foot is effective for preventing fabric from slipping or puckering. It's especially useful when sewing stretchy materials like knits and hard-to-feed materials like leather or vinyl. The presser belt rotates to feed the upper and lower layers of fabric without slippage so they are fed simultaneously." ...I've never seen a 'presser belt', so it's hard to imagine.
9/9/08 9:56 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Reply to Beth Pierce & Sew Very Tall: I beleve it is like the The walking foot is a moving feed system that holds and moves fabric between the presser foot's upper feed dog and the machines's lower feed dogs to better control difficult fabrics as well as multiple layers of fabric. The walking foot is great for quilting, sewing when matching prints or plaids or fabric drift is an issue . Walking Feet are not for use in reverse or side to side sewing as well as some built in stitches that include other than forward movement of the feed dogs. The foot has opening in the front of the foot for better visability, and you can also change attachemnts for different hems, etc.
8/29/08 4:23 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I was hoping you'd answer Beth Pierce's questions...what does a rotary even foot do?
8/29/08 5:59 AM
Teeavilnor said...

8/28/08 9:39 AM
Teeavilnor said...

8/28/08 9:38 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Reply to Geewiz40: If it should happened to you also, maybe you would like to know your attachments are still useful.
8/28/08 9:37 AM
glenj said...
im glad all the pieces fit,so now can you expand on why that is a good thing? how does this information help the rest of us?
8/27/08 10:11 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I have a Janome and would like to know what exactly does a rotary even foot do? Aren't Janmoes short shank machines and you could buy feet for them anywhere? (I don't know for sure as my other machines are Singers and they are slant feet). Are there any tricks to using the binder foot? I have trouble with mine. Thank you!
8/27/08 9:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.