SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Easy Mock-Fly Zipper Application

Viewed 5863 times
Posted by: Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1 starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/22/08 9:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I thought I'd put a little tutorial together on the method I use for mock-fly zippers (pants fronts). I can't remember if I took this idea from someone else (like Sandra Betzina or who knows who), or if I just kind of came up with it on my own over the years, or if I've morphed it from someone else's starting point or what. At any rate, it's the method I always use, and it seems to give pretty good results.

I added it to my Flickr page, so just click on the little camera icon above, and it'll take you there. Once you get to Flickr, click on the first little thumbnail, and you can start going through the process from there. The descriptions are below the pictures, as you work your way through.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ajax said...
Annette1, Thanks so much for this very clearly illustrated and explained application method. I have saved it and will certainly use it next time I sew a pattern with this type of fly.
8/23/08 3:58 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Very nice tutorial ~ Good photos and explanations!
8/23/08 7:11 AM
Sewnla said...
Annette what a great technique, thank you for sharing it with us with such wonderful pictures. It helps people like me who are visual learners!
8/23/08 11:06 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great tutorial, I'll be coming back to this one!
8/23/08 6:56 PM
SewGoingCrazy said...
Pleas explain the diffeence between a mock fly zipper and a reg. zipper? Thsnk you, I think I'm having a "duh" moment
8/25/08 2:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette: superb technique, producing a pristine effect. Very professional. Your tutorial is flawless with photo, each complete with instructions. Thanks so much for sharing this. -Lily
8/26/08 3:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Annette, thank you VERY much for sharing! Your great photos and detailed instructions will be a great help!!!!!!!
8/26/08 9:22 PM
Renee' S said...
Annette, Thank you for an excellent tutorial. I especially like the sharp stitching line across the bottom of the zipper, it looks so neat and crisp.
8/29/08 9:04 PM
TexasPat said...
Excellent examples through pictures. This is very similar to Betzina's technique, but you've got more detailed pictures. Thanks.
8/30/08 0:04 AM
fishfish said...
the tutorial is awesome, step by step with clearly pictures, every easy to follow. thank you so much for sharing with us. looking forward to your next tutorial. keep up the good work!!
9/11/08 7:36 PM
merlette said...
wow! I kept thinking "i don't see how this is going to work...I just don't see it, but I trust her..." and then poof there it is and it all makes sense! Thank you so much for posting this!
2/15/09 10:36 PM
Jeannie14 said...
I love this tip!!!Ive always hated to put a zipper in....this sure looks a lot easier thankyou
5/7/09 7:39 PM
carolrv said...
Thanks for a great tutorial. I likw the tip about the pinked edge of the interfacing also.
6/28/10 6:56 AM
DKG said...
Wow! THank you for the blow by blow detail. I am about to try my first fly zip on a pair of trousers, having avoided them for decades! This looks much neater and, well, hugely easier than the instructions in the sewing pattern. And with the same end result. Who wouldn't use a mock fly instead. Thanks Annette.
7/10/10 2:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.