SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy Mock-Fly Zipper Application

Viewed 6000 times
Posted by: Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1 starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/22/08 9:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I thought I'd put a little tutorial together on the method I use for mock-fly zippers (pants fronts). I can't remember if I took this idea from someone else (like Sandra Betzina or who knows who), or if I just kind of came up with it on my own over the years, or if I've morphed it from someone else's starting point or what. At any rate, it's the method I always use, and it seems to give pretty good results.

I added it to my Flickr page, so just click on the little camera icon above, and it'll take you there. Once you get to Flickr, click on the first little thumbnail, and you can start going through the process from there. The descriptions are below the pictures, as you work your way through.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
DKG said...
Wow! THank you for the blow by blow detail. I am about to try my first fly zip on a pair of trousers, having avoided them for decades! This looks much neater and, well, hugely easier than the instructions in the sewing pattern. And with the same end result. Who wouldn't use a mock fly instead. Thanks Annette.
7/10/10 2:41 AM
carolrv said...
Thanks for a great tutorial. I likw the tip about the pinked edge of the interfacing also.
6/28/10 6:56 AM
Jeannie14 said...
I love this tip!!!Ive always hated to put a zipper in....this sure looks a lot easier thankyou
5/7/09 7:39 PM
merlette said...
wow! I kept thinking "i don't see how this is going to work...I just don't see it, but I trust her..." and then poof there it is and it all makes sense! Thank you so much for posting this!
2/15/09 10:36 PM
fishfish said...
the tutorial is awesome, step by step with clearly pictures, every easy to follow. thank you so much for sharing with us. looking forward to your next tutorial. keep up the good work!!
9/11/08 7:36 PM
TexasPat said...
Excellent examples through pictures. This is very similar to Betzina's technique, but you've got more detailed pictures. Thanks.
8/30/08 0:04 AM
Renee' S said...
Annette, Thank you for an excellent tutorial. I especially like the sharp stitching line across the bottom of the zipper, it looks so neat and crisp.
8/29/08 9:04 PM
Heatherrique said...
Annette, thank you VERY much for sharing! Your great photos and detailed instructions will be a great help!!!!!!!
8/26/08 9:22 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette: superb technique, producing a pristine effect. Very professional. Your tutorial is flawless with photo, each complete with instructions. Thanks so much for sharing this. -Lily
8/26/08 3:10 AM
SewGoingCrazy said...
Pleas explain the diffeence between a mock fly zipper and a reg. zipper? Thsnk you, I think I'm having a "duh" moment
8/25/08 2:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great tutorial, I'll be coming back to this one!
8/23/08 6:56 PM
Sewnla said...
Annette what a great technique, thank you for sharing it with us with such wonderful pictures. It helps people like me who are visual learners!
8/23/08 11:06 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Very nice tutorial ~ Good photos and explanations!
8/23/08 7:11 AM
ajax said...
Annette1, Thanks so much for this very clearly illustrated and explained application method. I have saved it and will certainly use it next time I sew a pattern with this type of fly.
8/23/08 3:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.