SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sidewalk Chalk for marking fabric

Viewed 5862 times
Posted by: Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Teeavilnor star
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/31/08 10:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I use sidewalk chalk for marking my fabrics. It's inexpensive, washes out and can be bought in almost in any store. Sometimes I use old pieces of dried up bar soap. Why spend money on expensive markers, pens, and pencils. When simple things you already have around the house work just fine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
Do you use the really thick kind? My students also love this chalk. Honestly, I can not understand how they can work with it. I do like your idea of the dried up soap and your frugality is commendable. I have every marking gadget ever manufacturered and have my favorites that I could not live without. I'm curious, though. How do you transfer markings like the small dots?
8/31/08 10:48 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Looks like crayola should move some of the products from the craft isle to the notions wall! I've already been using their washable markers, but the chalk will work even better for dark fabrics! Thanks for the tip!
9/1/08 8:29 AM
Teeavilnor said...
reply to ryansmum: I don't use it for everything. Small dots I use taylor tacks. Yes I ues the thick kind and thin kind, I find the thick one doesn't break as often. I also use tracing paper for most of my patterns. But when it comes to a quick hem on a pair of jeans I use the chalk one swipe and it's marked.
9/1/08 9:26 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Oh, that makes sense! You use a wide variety of products, I do too. I haven't made any final decisions on what works best...I second Leanmean on the washable markers. I've seen students use them as well and they love the variety of colors and the price is right. Great to learn new techniques, thanks for sharing.
9/2/08 0:46 AM
monijo said...
God really loves me. Thank you for this tip. I am in a third world country where there are hardly any good sewing supplies. I stock up on my trips home to the U.S. I spent my travel money for my last trip on a very nice Pfaff sewing machine and scratched some other things off my sewing shopping list. One was chalk refills for my markers. I was thinking the other day about using chalk. I teach and have a lot of that around. I am going to get some of the children living around me the task of grinding it up until it is very fine. Since they have dubbed me the "Christmas Lady" because of the celebration I put on for them every year, I know they will be happy to do it. Thanks.
9/7/08 12:13 PM
glenj said...
small packs of tailors chalk are inexpensive,work well and don't take up much space.It is great to know that you can always use what you have around the house rather than,sewers are very inventive at making use of seemingly non sewing items
9/17/08 8:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.