SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Cynthia Guffey Hands On Course in Baton Rouge

Louisiana, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5806 times
Posted by: Restart06
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Restart06 star
Member since: 10/29/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
classes reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/08 10:31 PM
Last Updated: 6/3/11 8:38 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Wow , what a outstanding 4 day class with Cynthia Guffey. As most of you know, she is known for her couture sewing. This class is a work at your own pace, do what you want to accomplish at your pace & speed. According to Cynthia, most people start with her measuring you, and then altering the pattern (whatever patterns you chose to bring. I used hers) to fit you. She only takes 6 max in a class. We all learned from what others were doing, as we mostly working on different projects. From what I was told and observed, some who take the class make a mockup from the patterns to sew clothes, others bring their pattern, make a mockup, and sew their fabric and sew the garment during the class time. It is your choice. I drove and took my sewing machine, but Cynthia stated that she could provide one.

Day 1 Measurements, started altering pants pattern according to hips, thighs, waist, curves, etc. Cynthia helps you all along the way. Ordered out lunch to speed up the process. That evening I chose to cut out my pants mockup in the fabric & sew the mockup.

Day 2 Worked on altering my top and skirt pattern according to my measurements. We went out to eat at a local fabulous place. Evening work to cut out and sew up my top and skirt mockups.

Day 3 Tried on pants, shirt and skirt mockups, Cynthia fitted me, made changes, and started Jacket pattern alterations.
That evening due to I had left my thread & other notions at the workshop location so only cut out jacket mockup.

Day 4 Started early & worked till 10 am on the jacket mockup. Left early due to Hurricane Gustav. Cynthia was so accomodating to come early so we could get off before the traffic out of New Orleans got heavy and the LSU game was over.

Lodging: There are various hotels, inns, nearby depending upon your taste.

I would do it again, and definitely recommend for anyone wanting to make clothes to fit you. She gave more of herself, and taught us far more than we paid for. What I learned I will utilize in many ways. She also has videos, patterns, and wonderful raw silk and wool fabric to purchase and take home if you request. Her friend Peggy has the workshop at her home, so it was a wonderful atmosphere, and the only pressure is what you place on yourself. The other women there were great, and just wanted to learn. I highly recommend & suggest to go at least once to learn to make the best fitting clothes to fit you and anyone else that you sew for.

Update: Cynthia has moved to Tennessee. She does classes through a variety of sewing expos throughout the USA or will come to you and teach a group in your home or locale for several days. Her website: http://www.cynthiaguffey.com/
Hope this helps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
I dream of doing this one day...thanks for the day-to-day report!
9/2/08 7:30 AM
4u2cme said...
I plan to attend her class in my future. Thanks for the information.
9/2/08 10:23 AM
Mufffet said...
Sounds like a terrific experience!
9/2/08 2:55 PM
sewtime said...
That experience sounds so nice!
9/26/08 9:58 PM
Peggy L said...
Sounds like a wonderful class!
9/27/08 8:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.