SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Class Reviews > Cynthia Guffey Hands On Course in Baton Rouge

Viewed 6273 times
Posted by: Restart06

About Restart06 star
Member since: 10/29/06
Reviews: 30 (classes: 3)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/08 10:31 PM
Last Updated: 6/3/11 8:38 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Wow , what a outstanding 4 day class with Cynthia Guffey. As most of you know, she is known for her couture sewing. This class is a work at your own pace, do what you want to accomplish at your pace & speed. According to Cynthia, most people start with her measuring you, and then altering the pattern (whatever patterns you chose to bring. I used hers) to fit you. She only takes 6 max in a class. We all learned from what others were doing, as we mostly working on different projects. From what I was told and observed, some who take the class make a mockup from the patterns to sew clothes, others bring their pattern, make a mockup, and sew their fabric and sew the garment during the class time. It is your choice. I drove and took my sewing machine, but Cynthia stated that she could provide one.

Day 1 Measurements, started altering pants pattern according to hips, thighs, waist, curves, etc. Cynthia helps you all along the way. Ordered out lunch to speed up the process. That evening I chose to cut out my pants mockup in the fabric & sew the mockup.

Day 2 Worked on altering my top and skirt pattern according to my measurements. We went out to eat at a local fabulous place. Evening work to cut out and sew up my top and skirt mockups.

Day 3 Tried on pants, shirt and skirt mockups, Cynthia fitted me, made changes, and started Jacket pattern alterations.
That evening due to I had left my thread & other notions at the workshop location so only cut out jacket mockup.

Day 4 Started early & worked till 10 am on the jacket mockup. Left early due to Hurricane Gustav. Cynthia was so accomodating to come early so we could get off before the traffic out of New Orleans got heavy and the LSU game was over.

Lodging: There are various hotels, inns, nearby depending upon your taste.

I would do it again, and definitely recommend for anyone wanting to make clothes to fit you. She gave more of herself, and taught us far more than we paid for. What I learned I will utilize in many ways. She also has videos, patterns, and wonderful raw silk and wool fabric to purchase and take home if you request. Her friend Peggy has the workshop at her home, so it was a wonderful atmosphere, and the only pressure is what you place on yourself. The other women there were great, and just wanted to learn. I highly recommend & suggest to go at least once to learn to make the best fitting clothes to fit you and anyone else that you sew for.

Update: Cynthia has moved to Tennessee. She does classes through a variety of sewing expos throughout the USA or will come to you and teach a group in your home or locale for several days. Her website:
Hope this helps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews

Login to Add a Comment    
Peggy L said... (9/27/08 8:55 PM) Reply
Sounds like a wonderful class!
sewtime said... (9/26/08 9:58 PM) Reply
That experience sounds so nice!
Mufffet said... (9/2/08 2:55 PM) Reply
Sounds like a terrific experience!
4u2cme said... (9/2/08 10:23 AM) Reply
I plan to attend her class in my future. Thanks for the information.
Lisa Laree said... (9/2/08 7:30 AM) Reply
I dream of doing this one day...thanks for the day-to-day report!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.