Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cynthia Guffey Hands On Course in Baton Rouge (Sewing Class Review)
Louisiana, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5568 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Posted by: Restart06
photo
About Restart06 star
Member since: 10/29/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
classes reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/08 10:31 PM
Last Updated: 6/3/11 8:38 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: photo
Wow , what a outstanding 4 day class with Cynthia Guffey. As most of you know, she is known for her couture sewing. This class is a work at your own pace, do what you want to accomplish at your pace & speed. According to Cynthia, most people start with her measuring you, and then altering the pattern (whatever patterns you chose to bring. I used hers) to fit you. She only takes 6 max in a class. We all learned from what others were doing, as we mostly working on different projects. From what I was told and observed, some who take the class make a mockup from the patterns to sew clothes, others bring their pattern, make a mockup, and sew their fabric and sew the garment during the class time. It is your choice. I drove and took my sewing machine, but Cynthia stated that she could provide one.

Day 1 Measurements, started altering pants pattern according to hips, thighs, waist, curves, etc. Cynthia helps you all along the way. Ordered out lunch to speed up the process. That evening I chose to cut out my pants mockup in the fabric & sew the mockup.

Day 2 Worked on altering my top and skirt pattern according to my measurements. We went out to eat at a local fabulous place. Evening work to cut out and sew up my top and skirt mockups.

Day 3 Tried on pants, shirt and skirt mockups, Cynthia fitted me, made changes, and started Jacket pattern alterations.
That evening due to I had left my thread & other notions at the workshop location so only cut out jacket mockup.

Day 4 Started early & worked till 10 am on the jacket mockup. Left early due to Hurricane Gustav. Cynthia was so accomodating to come early so we could get off before the traffic out of New Orleans got heavy and the LSU game was over.

Lodging: There are various hotels, inns, nearby depending upon your taste.

I would do it again, and definitely recommend for anyone wanting to make clothes to fit you. She gave more of herself, and taught us far more than we paid for. What I learned I will utilize in many ways. She also has videos, patterns, and wonderful raw silk and wool fabric to purchase and take home if you request. Her friend Peggy has the workshop at her home, so it was a wonderful atmosphere, and the only pressure is what you place on yourself. The other women there were great, and just wanted to learn. I highly recommend & suggest to go at least once to learn to make the best fitting clothes to fit you and anyone else that you sew for.

Update: Cynthia has moved to Tennessee. She does classes through a variety of sewing expos throughout the USA or will come to you and teach a group in your home or locale for several days. Her website: http://www.cynthiaguffey.com/
Hope this helps.
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
I dream of doing this one day...thanks for the day-to-day report!
9/2/08 7:30 AM
4u2cme said...
I plan to attend her class in my future. Thanks for the information.
9/2/08 10:23 AM
Mufffet said...
Sounds like a terrific experience!
9/2/08 2:55 PM
sewtime said...
That experience sounds so nice!
9/26/08 9:58 PM
Peggy L said...
Sounds like a wonderful class!
9/27/08 8:55 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us