Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Tracing Patterns -- Add Seam Allowances and Finishing all at Once (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5653 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Posted by: celeste
photo
About celeste star
ID USA
Member since: 6/21/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/08 11:32 PM
Last Updated: 5/12/09 12:46 PM
After working on tons of Burda's over the last year*, I have finally developed a method of tracing, marking, cutting, & sewing.

When I learned to sew, I was taught the old cut the pattern out on the "cut" lines and then sew it using the pre-determined seam allowance. Converting to Burda patterns (seam lines, not cutting lines) was a real challenge. I tried lots of different methods and finally settled on, and fined tuned this one:

step one:
trace pattern to tracing paper (using pencil)

step two:
cut the pattern pieces (paper, not the fabric yet) on the "seam" lines (the lines that you traced) also, cut the pattern's darts, pleats, etc., open along one edge and fold open.

step three (partly optional):
lay pattern pieces on fabric, pin lightly and very roughly, cut a big hem allowance around the edges (you can even skip this step and cut later, if you want.)

step four:
with pattern pieces on the fabric, trace along outside edge (I like using the little french-made crayon/chalk marking tool search for it as: "BOHIN CHALK PENCIL" -- will add a link to the tool's picture soon.) I also have discovered that I actually like to hand baste for marking as well -- especially if the fabric is bumpy. Note: you will need to trace one right and one wrong side of the pattern piece--unless it's a single piece (i.e. not cut on a double layer of fabric) and, always mark on the wrong side of your fabric.

step five:
get the serger out and serge all of the edges the same distance from the marked seam line (your edges are now finished AND you have "cut" out your pattern pieces! Two birds with one stone) You can also do this step without thread--just let the serger cut your exact seam allowances if you prefer to keep the edges unfinished prior to sewing the pieces together.

step six:
line up the serged lines and then sew along the marked seam line or the correct distance from the edges if you are sewing on the right side of the fabric. Voila! Dishes are done baby

note: I don't cut out any piece that needs to be fully interfaced. I just cut out the interfacing, fuse it to a bigger piece of fabric and then serger using the same distance from the seam line as I used on the other pattern pieces.


*I wrote this tip a few years ago as a bonus to a pattern review. While browsing my old reviews today, I ran across it again. Back then in the review, I promised to post it as a tip (better late than never?)
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
granny geek said...
great tip...thanks!
9/2/08 0:42 AM
Merry G said...
What is the "little french marking tool?
9/2/08 6:50 AM
TheSewingGirl said...
I LOVE this tip!! I will giving it a try-out soon.
9/2/08 10:15 AM
seweibhlin said...
very, very clever thanks for a great tip.
9/3/08 10:39 AM
marycds said...
Brilliant! I will try this.
9/3/08 1:46 PM
glenj said...
is your marking tool a mechanical chalk pencil,that comes with about 8 coloured and 8 white refill chalk sticks?if so this is the best without exception marking tool i have ever used.my only complaint is that i only found it 6 months ago.(ten years earlier would have been nice)
9/5/08 9:58 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I was curious about the Bohin Chalk Pencil. Here's a link that shows several of them...

Bohin Chalk Pencils
9/9/08 9:09 AM

Calvin's grandma said...
What a timesaver, just getting used to using european patterns myself and this helps!
9/17/08 5:00 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a nifty process! Makes such sense too. Thank you!
10/17/08 12:05 PM
fishfish said...
What a brilliant idea, I am using burda magazine's patterns as well, was worried what am I gonna do with the pattern without seam allowance. haha, your tip save my life as I have 6 burda projects that I want to do. Great tip!
11/20/08 4:00 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us