SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > "adjustable" drawstring

Viewed 5703 times
Posted by: newlywedws
photo

 
 
About newlywedws star
FL USA
Member since: 10/4/06
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/6/08 11:01 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When making a garment that calls for a drawstring...it's easy to make the drawstring "adjustable". The "adjustable" part comes from the fact that part of the drawstring, is actually elastic.

To make the drawstring, I cut two equal portions of the material on the bias, and then serge the edges and turn. Next I will take elastic that is @8" in length and 1/4" wide, and then will join each end of the elastic to the fabric and will stitch to join. Once finished I will insert the drawstring.




<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ginner said...
i am just a beginner so i make a lot of drawstring waists. this is a great idea and i will definitely use it in my next project.
4/18/09 0:02 AM
dollieo said...
Very good idea. I can still slip my pants on without untieing them and they would still have the drawsring.Thanks.
9/8/08 9:08 AM
newlywedws said...
Connie - the @8" means approximately 8 inches. Vasallese - there are 2 equal lengths of bias tubing, you would insert each end of elastic into the ends of the bias tubing - this becomes a drawstring that can be placed inside any garment calling for a drawstring/ Merry- the reason why I cut it on the bias is for some extra built in "stretch" plus a non-raveling factor.
9/8/08 0:59 AM
Merry G said...
Why do you cut bias...this is a great idea...thanks...
9/7/08 11:42 AM
Sewingmi said...
What a great idea! I'm going to print this tip for next time I need a drawstring. I've tried the drawstring elastic that you can purchase, and it's kind of a pain - this sounds like a much better idea! And then the part of the string that is exposed can be any color you want! Thanks for the great idea!
9/7/08 10:06 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Brilliant idea! I wish I had know of this years ago!
9/7/08 9:04 AM
vasallese said...
Maybe because my brain is not in gear, but I need a little more info on where this tube of bias and elastic goes. Thanks.
9/7/08 8:48 AM
Kath in ON said...
I think she means approximately 8"? Great idea.
9/7/08 7:49 AM
Connie A said...
What do you mean by @8" ?
9/7/08 0:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.