SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > "adjustable" drawstring

Viewed 5674 times
Posted by: newlywedws
photo

 
 
About newlywedws star
FL USA
Member since: 10/4/06
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/6/08 11:01 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When making a garment that calls for a drawstring...it's easy to make the drawstring "adjustable". The "adjustable" part comes from the fact that part of the drawstring, is actually elastic.

To make the drawstring, I cut two equal portions of the material on the bias, and then serge the edges and turn. Next I will take elastic that is @8" in length and 1/4" wide, and then will join each end of the elastic to the fabric and will stitch to join. Once finished I will insert the drawstring.




<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ginner said...
i am just a beginner so i make a lot of drawstring waists. this is a great idea and i will definitely use it in my next project.
4/18/09 0:02 AM
dollieo said...
Very good idea. I can still slip my pants on without untieing them and they would still have the drawsring.Thanks.
9/8/08 9:08 AM
newlywedws said...
Connie - the @8" means approximately 8 inches. Vasallese - there are 2 equal lengths of bias tubing, you would insert each end of elastic into the ends of the bias tubing - this becomes a drawstring that can be placed inside any garment calling for a drawstring/ Merry- the reason why I cut it on the bias is for some extra built in "stretch" plus a non-raveling factor.
9/8/08 0:59 AM
Merry G said...
Why do you cut bias...this is a great idea...thanks...
9/7/08 11:42 AM
Sewingmi said...
What a great idea! I'm going to print this tip for next time I need a drawstring. I've tried the drawstring elastic that you can purchase, and it's kind of a pain - this sounds like a much better idea! And then the part of the string that is exposed can be any color you want! Thanks for the great idea!
9/7/08 10:06 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Brilliant idea! I wish I had know of this years ago!
9/7/08 9:04 AM
vasallese said...
Maybe because my brain is not in gear, but I need a little more info on where this tube of bias and elastic goes. Thanks.
9/7/08 8:48 AM
Kath in ON said...
I think she means approximately 8"? Great idea.
9/7/08 7:49 AM
Connie A said...
What do you mean by @8" ?
9/7/08 0:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

More Info
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.