SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Front Welt Pockets on Pants

Viewed 5714 times
Posted by: Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1 starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/8/08 10:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I put together a little tutorial on making front welt pockets on your pants. I prefer welt pockets, if I'm going to have pockets at all, for several reasons. The main reason is that I like the way they feel better than having to stick my hands in side-seam pockets. Also, there is no bulk added at the side seam using this method. Thirdly, I just like welt pockets! If you click on the icon above, it should take you to a link on Flickr.

Happy sewing!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kirstenw said...
Thank you, that took quite a bit of effort to take all those photos
10/9/08 0:24 AM
vasallese said...
TY, I really appreciate your pictoral tutorials. Very Helpful.
10/9/08 6:39 AM
svetlana said...
Very informative. I am sure that when I finally get the nerve up to do a welt pocket I will refer to it. Thanks for taking the time.
10/9/08 7:34 AM
Rhoda K said...
I'll definitely give this one a try. Thank you so much.
10/9/08 9:24 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wow, great tutorial. THank you. I learned alot.
10/9/08 9:37 AM
jeanharville said...
very helpful. Thanks for taking the time to share your method with us.
10/9/08 9:42 AM
Rebecca D said...
Fantastic tip. This is the most flattering pocket type ever, in my opinion. I've not had the courage to try it, but I do now.
10/9/08 11:28 AM
ktsews2 said...
Thank you for a really good step by step tutorial.........easy to understand and great photos.
10/9/08 11:30 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for your documentation of the welt pocket - great photos and very clear explanation.
10/9/08 4:55 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the tutorial! Excellent.
10/9/08 5:18 PM
dollieo said...
Very nicely done.
10/10/08 4:37 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for all your hard work. Love all the tutorial pictures. I will no longer fear welt pockets! One more big THANK YOU.
10/10/08 9:20 PM
HeyJane said...
Superb tutorial. I used to be a little scared of welts, but the more I sew them, they are becoming much easier.
10/10/08 11:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette, this is the best welt pocket tutorial I've ever seen, and I'm not kidding. Thank you for your time and meticulousness. I'm going to try your method of weltography at the next opportunity. --Lily
10/12/08 11:58 PM
MissTaraTara said...
Excellent, detailed tutorial! Wow!
10/19/08 5:16 PM
sdp said...
Incredible tutorial! I am going to try it ASAP. Thanks for all the photos and explanations.
10/22/08 10:18 AM
99 said...
This is one of the most comprehensive reviews of sewing a welt pocket that I have seen. It is very good. Very easy to follow progression.
1/30/09 12:04 PM
Woolygal said...
Annette, you're a treasure. Thanks for all the work you do for us.
10/31/10 8:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.