SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Elastic Ottobre Style Tutorial

Viewed 5510 times
Posted by: Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLu starstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/15/08 3:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 47 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Before starting to sew you need to get the waist measurement of the recipient. After obtaining this you need to cut your elastic 5-7 cm smaller than the waist measurement. Sew the elastic together. After doing this follow these steps: Step 1 & 2, Step 3, Step 4 & 5, and Step 6.

I find this way of doing elastic much easier. You don't have to worry about the elastic becoming twisted inside the casing and you can sew the elastic on while making the casing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kirstenw said...
Thank you Meggie, that almost looks easier than doing it on the overlocker
10/16/08 1:39 AM
Stitchology said...
Nice clear pictures make this easy to understand.
10/16/08 10:16 AM
Jeanninem said...
Great review. It is also very nice that you take the time to post this idea. Thank you.
10/16/08 10:40 AM
janet said...
Great tip! Your pictures and instructions are clear and concise.
10/16/08 11:59 AM
Kristina C said...
I agree with Jeanninem--you are very generous to post your tips and so thoroughly!
10/16/08 10:18 PM
EleanorSews said...
Nicely done tutorial. Has a very RTW wear look to it. You are such a talented and generous young lady!
10/17/08 11:43 AM
j222b said...
Thanks!
10/17/08 12:39 PM
SoCal said...
Thank you for the lesson. It was so helpful to have the pictures.
10/17/08 4:09 PM
EveS said...
At first I balked at their technique, but after trying it once or twice, I decided it was SO much easier and quicker than threading thru that darned casing. I've also noticed that most my RTW activewear is done this way, too. Thanks for posting this for everyone!
10/21/08 8:44 PM
cabinbaby said...
Great pictures!! This is how I do it too.
11/6/08 0:16 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Great tip! Very helpful step by step pictures!
11/7/08 9:09 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Thanks for taking the time to post! Your pictures tutorial is a nice touch to Ottobre instructions.
11/7/08 11:18 PM
Catbird said...
Great tutorial -- thank you!
1/31/09 8:22 PM
akilcoyne said...
Love it! Thanks
2/12/09 8:23 PM
Annette1 said...
Great tutorial with wonderful pictures taking us through the steps. Your casing looks perfect!
3/1/09 0:34 AM
AMN said...
You are so sweet to make these tutorials. I'm bookmarking them all!
3/6/09 12:50 PM
sondriecohe said...
Thanks so much for this, was wondering how to do it that way.
3/14/09 12:35 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks!! What a great tutorial.
4/28/09 10:27 AM
SoVintage said...
Nice Tip, Thank You
5/27/09 12:07 PM
Athene said...
Thank you Meggie - very nice tip.
9/27/09 3:31 AM
waikikimum said...
Just the tip I needed right now sewing up a pair of track pants. Thank you
5/25/10 9:39 AM
Kaelha said...
This is a terrific tip! I am in the process of sewing up some pajama shorts and pants. Thank you!
5/27/10 11:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.