SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Buttonhole Elastic Tutorial

Viewed 5966 times
Posted by: Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLu starstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/15/08 4:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Before starting you need to cut a piece of buttonhole elastic that goes around the child's waist minus 2 inches. Example: My little sister's waist is 20 1/2 inches. So, I would cut a piece of buttonhole elastic 18 1/2 inches.

After doing this, follow these steps: Step 1 & 2 (the buttonholes are sewn 3 to 4 inches away from side seam), Step 3 & 4, Step 5 & 6, and Step 7 & 8.

This is a nice way of making the waist size adjustable. As the child grows you can make the waist bigger as needed.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tov said...
Thanks! I've seen this elastic but never knew what to do with it :) Great tutorial.
10/15/08 8:02 PM
Kirstenw said...
I have GDs and this is an excellent tip
10/16/08 1:42 AM
jeanharville said...
What a good idea. Thanks for sharing.
10/16/08 9:34 AM
CindyK said...
Just got some of this elastic to alter some of my skinny GS's pants (He moved up to the size that doesn't come with it). This will be a great help.
10/16/08 9:59 AM
Jeanninem said...
Great review. You are incredibly talented.
10/16/08 10:42 AM
EleanorSews said...
Nicely done. With great nieces at a great distance, this is a clever way to do a skirt and not worry about fit too much.
10/17/08 11:40 AM
sewtime said...
Wow, thank you for this tutorial, very nice!
10/18/08 0:15 AM
marycds said...
How clever. This would be great for maternity clothes too. I will be using this.
10/18/08 7:18 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
Keep sewing Meggie. Your tips are great. I've been sewing a long time, but I still like to read other's tips.
10/18/08 7:22 PM
newlywedws said...
I've never seen this type of elastic, but what an interesting concept!
10/20/08 11:35 PM
quathy said...
thank you!!! i need to adjust most of my tall and slender daughter's pants - these visuals you've provided are invaluable and will save me tons of time!
10/24/08 5:47 PM
mayday said...
Thank you for this tutorial! It was just the information that I needed.
5/4/09 4:56 PM
SewSara said...
Thank you! This tutorial is great!
6/8/09 12:48 PM
KathyBKnits said...
Thanks--what a great idea for kids' clothes!
7/2/09 7:46 PM
Annette1 said...
This is a great idea, and you've shown every step perfectly, making it SOOOOOOO easy for even ME to follow along! :o)
9/16/09 9:40 PM
Barbara V said...
Excellent tutorial! I didn't even know of this product. THANK YOU!
9/17/09 0:12 AM
Shirley Lea said...
Great explanation--is there any way to keep the elastic from just popping away into the casing by mistake?
7/2/12 1:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.