SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Buttonhole Elastic Tutorial

Viewed 6199 times
Posted by: Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLu starstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/15/08 4:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Before starting you need to cut a piece of buttonhole elastic that goes around the child's waist minus 2 inches. Example: My little sister's waist is 20 1/2 inches. So, I would cut a piece of buttonhole elastic 18 1/2 inches.

After doing this, follow these steps: Step 1 & 2 (the buttonholes are sewn 3 to 4 inches away from side seam), Step 3 & 4, Step 5 & 6, and Step 7 & 8.

This is a nice way of making the waist size adjustable. As the child grows you can make the waist bigger as needed.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Shirley Lea said...
Great explanation--is there any way to keep the elastic from just popping away into the casing by mistake?
7/2/12 1:31 PM
Barbara V said...
Excellent tutorial! I didn't even know of this product. THANK YOU!
9/17/09 0:12 AM
Annette1 said...
This is a great idea, and you've shown every step perfectly, making it SOOOOOOO easy for even ME to follow along! :o)
9/16/09 9:40 PM
KathyBKnits said...
Thanks--what a great idea for kids' clothes!
7/2/09 7:46 PM
SewSara said...
Thank you! This tutorial is great!
6/8/09 12:48 PM
mayday said...
Thank you for this tutorial! It was just the information that I needed.
5/4/09 4:56 PM
quathy said...
thank you!!! i need to adjust most of my tall and slender daughter's pants - these visuals you've provided are invaluable and will save me tons of time!
10/24/08 5:47 PM
newlywedws said...
I've never seen this type of elastic, but what an interesting concept!
10/20/08 11:35 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
Keep sewing Meggie. Your tips are great. I've been sewing a long time, but I still like to read other's tips.
10/18/08 7:22 PM
marycds said...
How clever. This would be great for maternity clothes too. I will be using this.
10/18/08 7:18 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, thank you for this tutorial, very nice!
10/18/08 0:15 AM
EleanorSews said...
Nicely done. With great nieces at a great distance, this is a clever way to do a skirt and not worry about fit too much.
10/17/08 11:40 AM
Jeanninem said...
Great review. You are incredibly talented.
10/16/08 10:42 AM
CindyK said...
Just got some of this elastic to alter some of my skinny GS's pants (He moved up to the size that doesn't come with it). This will be a great help.
10/16/08 9:59 AM
jeanharville said...
What a good idea. Thanks for sharing.
10/16/08 9:34 AM
Kirstenw said...
I have GDs and this is an excellent tip
10/16/08 1:42 AM
Tov said...
Thanks! I've seen this elastic but never knew what to do with it :) Great tutorial.
10/15/08 8:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.