SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > After the Perky Body is Gone

Michigan, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5385 times
Posted by: jbsew
photo

 
 
About jbsew starstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/9/05
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
classes reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/19/08 8:58 AM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
This class was taught by Connie Crawford from Fashion Patterns by Coni. I was disappointed in the one hour class. The seminar description listed that she will illustrate fitting by draping on a custom dress form and a live model. Learn how to check your patten fit quickly and easily before cutting your fashion fabric. Connie will demonstrate how to make a custom dress form and arm that assists the fitting. Unfortunately that is not what the hour was. Connie did give a handout with easy fitting tips and demonstrated some techniques on live models. She did not use a dress form or demonstrate how to make one. Connie talked fast and mainly promoted herself and her books and patterns. I was disappointed because I have been sewing her patterns in the Butterick Line and really like the fit and style so I was hoping for more substance to the hour. I also did not appreciate her negative talk about other instructors that presented at the expo or on TV who she didn't agree with. I felt her different techniques could be presented more professionally without being personally negative about other sewing instructors. I think Connie has a lot to offer in design for the more mature figure, but unfortunately this hour was not her finest.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Thanks for your honest and very helpful review.
10/19/08 11:08 AM
priscilla said...
I appreciate your honest review of the class. Unfortunately this has happened in other classes I've taken and it has made a difference in the classes I know sign up for.
10/19/08 11:21 AM
bluefly said...
I have had this happen also for classes I sign for. The description just does not match. The instructors often even say this at the beginning saying "the description I wrote for the class is not what I intend to talk about". Another wasted hour. I am learning which classes are reliable and worth attending and which to stay away from.
10/20/08 7:24 AM
cindyann said...
Thank you for this honest review. How disappointing that there was bad mouthing of other instructors.
10/25/08 12:51 PM
bella tutu said...
This is a very interesting review because I teach, and am always looking for DO NOT DO's as an instructor. I too took a class from a world-class instructor in S.F. a few years ago, and all I heard about was gossip about this instructor and that instructor, and I was like, "I paid for this?" I want to learn technique, not about your dinner party with so-and-so.. as a sewing instructor, I take all this to heart. Thank you for your honest review!
10/30/08 11:06 PM
Annette1 said...
A very interesting and insightful review. Positive reviews are easy to write, but pointing out negatives in an unbiased, professional way is not quite as simple. But that's what you've done anyway, through your use of specific examples and helpful insights. :o) Thanks!
11/12/08 4:43 PM
wendalia said...
Having just completed a 3 day class with her I don't see how she could do much more than tease you in an hour. Sure she could show how to drape on a dress form and live model in an huor. And show how to check your pattern fit, throw in how to make a custom dress for and an arm all in one hour was spectacularly unrealizstic. I'd say you were misled? She did point out the difference in her method and other teachers methods, and hers make sense. I've been trying to apply others to real life for years. Yet I came home exhausted last night after 3 days and tried on a dress that was in the GoodWill bag, made the changes I'd learnedin class and whoala, dress no longer is a goner. It will fit.
5/23/10 6:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.