SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Specialty feet (loohoo44)

Viewed 5200 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/27/08 10:24 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
This week, I have been revisiting all the fun feet for some of my class sewing machines and having way too much fun to qualify as work. ( I feel SO lucky to get paid well to teach sewing- forgive me for gloating) Anyhow, it's easy to forget about how wonderful these feet are and how much easier they make sewing. I'm currently using a tiny hemmer that turns a 1/4 inch hem, my knit skirts look great. I don't have to iron a hem, it is sinfully easy! There are binders, fringe makers, cording feet, it's incredible. There's the most wonderful thread on feet on the boards go to http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/27779 by loohoo44. It is comprehensive. So make some time Saturday morning and just play. You will be so glad you did!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JoaniesJosh said...
Is there any way from this page to click on to SewingDiscussions/topic/27779?
10/28/08 8:46 AM
ryansmumAria said...
JJ, sorry, I'm not so great at those types of things, I really have no clue. Maybe someone else will chime in.
10/28/08 9:49 AM
Winifred said...
This is wonderful - just typed the address in the address bar at the top and then added it to my favouites. BTW can someone tell me how to get all these favs into alphabetical order please ??
10/28/08 5:56 PM
Joni2 said...
I'd love to know how you're using a hemmer with knits so successfully. It eludes me; thanks.
10/28/08 10:33 PM
newlywedws said...
this is the link for JoaniesJosh :) I'm going to have fun looking through all those feet and familiarising myself w/ the appropriate names!
10/29/08 0:23 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Joni, The hemmer works on very full knit skirts hems so a 1/4 inch hemmer is appropriate for this application. I wouldn't use it on an A line skirt or slim skirt. In those cases, I make a 1 1/2 or larger hem to add needed weight. I wear very long skirts, rather bohemian styled, slim 2/3 of the way and then severely flared. so that may also help explain why this style hem works. I will post some picture next week when there is more time. I haven't had a problem turning the hem but I go slowish since it seems to want to twist. I always practice with scrap fabric to get a feel for it. Hope that helps.
10/29/08 7:18 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Newlywed, you have to tell us how you did that!
10/29/08 7:24 AM
newlywedws said...
ryansmum - it's the same application that is used when posting on the message board (don't mean to "hijack" the comment area)
10/29/08 10:18 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Joni, Now I understand why using that hemmer may elude you. Today in my sewing classroom, I used an older bernina to make a sample hem using the 1/4 inch hemmer. It would not work regardless of what I did. It was a big mess. I went back to one of the industrial singer needle machines and it was all smooth sailing so not all turners are equal. Do you have an other machine you could give it a try on. It is such a fabulous foot when it does work.
11/1/08 5:02 PM
Joni2 said...
Yes, these ideas help, especially as I'm making long skirts like that, too. I have an old Huskylock and a Singer so I'll try it on both. My earlier attempts were with a Brother. Thanks!
11/1/08 11:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.