SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > sewing a rolled hem in comfort

Viewed 5227 times
Posted by: svetlana
photo

 
 
About svetlana star
IL USA
Member since: 12/30/06
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/30/08 7:21 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My arthritis has been acting up and I was getting so cramped up as I was making a rolled hem on a blouse cuff. The contortions I go through to keep the material tightly rolled as it feeds through the foot! (of course I could be doing it all wrong since I am self taught) I had an "ah ha" momemt and turned my machine on the table so that the head was facing me. OMG! No hand cramp and wrist dislocation! No leaning over to the left to get a better view of the material coming through the foot. I'm sure someone else has thought of this before, but I just had to shout my revelation from the PR rooftop. Dang, I just wish I had figured this out when I was making my daughter's prom dress last spring.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
This is very interesting. Do you think other sewing chores should be done like this, too? or just the rolled hem?
10/30/08 3:47 PM
svetlana said...
I was talking to a friend at work who quilts and she said that is the recommendation for free motion quilting. I will have to try it on other things that give me fits, like maybe blind hemming.
10/30/08 9:42 PM
Nancy K said...
I am not sure how you are doing this. Are you using your regular sewing machine and a rolled hem foot?
10/31/08 8:14 AM
Wendy Hahn said...
Great idea!
10/31/08 10:46 AM
ladybegood said...
Well, I never thought of doing this before, so thanks for sharing!
10/31/08 11:21 AM
svetlana said...
Nancy K, I am using my regular machine and a rolled hem foot. It took me a full day for my hands and shoulders to recover after I did my DD's prom dress (yards of beaded organza). This is much better body mechanics.
10/31/08 5:36 PM
JenniferBee said...
What a great idea, I can see the benefits you can obtain by turning the machine. Will be trying it soon.
11/1/08 4:02 AM
Sew'n'go said...
What an interesting idea!
11/2/08 11:55 AM
needlenorth said...
I'll have to try it. Do you have a walking foot? Would that also be helpful? My machine is a Pfaff 7530, and I have a foot that can be raised and lowered, and I think (but am not sure) used in conjunction with a rolled hem foot, in that it simply pivots down behind whatever foot is put on the shaft. Those who quilt like it because it holds several layers of fabric steady, and it is supposed to be great for slippery fabrics like layers of chiffon. So I would assume it would help. I am just learning these techniques myself.
11/7/08 8:50 AM
svetlana said...
Needlenorth, I do have a walking foot. In fact, just started using it a lot in some stages of clothing construction after I went to my first ever formal sewing class. (Brother NX 400) It came with my machine and I thought it was only for quilting. However, I wasn't aware that you could combine the walking foot with any other attachments. Tell me more!
11/8/08 9:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.