SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Perfect Bra Fitting

Ontario, CANADA
Viewed 5564 times
Posted by: Cruiser
photo

 
 
About Cruiser
ON CANADA
Member since: 5/23/03
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/23/03 4:54 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Being a 40DD makes it really hard to buy a bra, so I tried my hand at making one. I took a bra class offered at my local college and the teacher gave us a catalog from Bra-makers Supply. The teacher just "happened" to be Beverly Johnson (the owner of BMS) and she helped us through the construction methods, but her real strength is the personalized fittings. When she looks at that bra you have made, she just "knows" where it doesn't fit, and makes changes to the pattern right there in class. I thought we would be getting a "real" pattern but she gave us a copy of her own pattern that is only given out in her classes. I wish she would have that pattern available commercially, as hers goes up to J cups in some sizes, and F cups in others. Well, the long and short of it is that now I make all my own bras and they are the best I have ever had. I have tried the bra patterns from New Zealand, and from Elan but the 40DD's in those patterns just don't fit me at all.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
alex said...
Thanks for the review. Which college offers this course?
5/31/03 5:01 PM
Cruiser said...
Alex these courses are offered at Mohawk College in Hamilton. If you go to the Bra makers site (www.bramakers.com) it will tell you where and when Beverly is teaching next. She teaches all over Canada and has even taught in Hawaii.
6/2/03 9:09 PM
Needler said...
Would have liked more contact information for those of us who are looking for help........Needler
9/11/03 9:18 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Thanks for an interesting and useful review! Oopsy
9/23/03 2:20 PM
Bra lady said...
I too have had the pleasure of taking Beverly's Bra Making classes! I have been making bras for 2 years now. Iam now a Certified Bra Maker/ Instructor thru Bra-Makers Supply and have my own business making custom bras and instructing bra making classes all over the country. I love it!
10/14/03 4:05 PM
said...
I too have had the pleasure of taking bra making classes from Beverly. I have been making bras for 2 years and now Iam a Certified Bra Maker/ Instructor thru Beverly's Bra- Makers Supply. I have my own business making custom bras & instructing Bra Making Classes all over the country. I love it!
10/14/03 4:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
char said...
I just came looking for more information on Beverly Johnson. She is coming to a local dealership for a seminar and I wanted to know more about her.
3/22/04 8:37 AM
slipshoe said...
Sewinator, where are you located? Are you doing this as a primary income or just because you love it??
3/24/04 11:05 PM
babs58 said...
I took the bra making class at Bra makers supply in Hamilton Ont recently and was very disappointed. II would leave with a bra and a pattern that worked for me. Well I left with a bra that did not fit at all and had to be taken apart because the cup was way to deep and to high and my pattern alterations were not finished. There were several of us in the class that were in the same boat. Very disappointed!
9/13/11 8:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.