SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Tension and Dark Colors

Viewed 5143 times
Posted by: Joni2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Joni2 star
IN USA
Member since: 9/7/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/08 11:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
I recently learned from the sewing machine repairman that dark colors in fabric and thread can affect sewing machine tension over time. A dark color requires more dye which makes fabric and thread heavier. Mr. Repairman showed me how to make a slight adjustment in bobbin tension if my stitch balance goes "off" again.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
how interesting- thanks for sharing!
11/11/08 9:33 AM
j222b said...
So what exactly did MR repairman show you as to the adjustment of bobbin tension? Maybe his suggestion can be applied to other machines?
11/11/08 12:56 PM
Joni2 said...
My Singer has a very small opening in the front for a tiny screwdriver that allows the bobbin tension to be adjusted. A lot of bobbin cases have a small adjustment screw on the outside of the case itself for increasing or decreasing the bobbin tension.
11/18/08 7:32 PM
Wally08 said...
What is the slight adjustment, so we can do it too?
11/18/08 8:12 PM
Joni2 said...
I haven't made an adjustment, but was shown by the repairman how to do it. I've read that changing bobbin tension should be a rarely-needed thing--a last resort when nothing else explains tension problems. I would make any change in small increments and then test the results.
11/19/08 4:02 PM
grammikins said...
Wow, who knew? Thanks for the tip.
10/27/09 9:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.