SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tension and Dark Colors

Viewed 5191 times
Posted by: Joni2
photo

 
 
About Joni2 star
IN USA
Member since: 9/7/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/08 11:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
I recently learned from the sewing machine repairman that dark colors in fabric and thread can affect sewing machine tension over time. A dark color requires more dye which makes fabric and thread heavier. Mr. Repairman showed me how to make a slight adjustment in bobbin tension if my stitch balance goes "off" again.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
grammikins said...
Wow, who knew? Thanks for the tip.
10/27/09 9:34 PM
Joni2 said...
I haven't made an adjustment, but was shown by the repairman how to do it. I've read that changing bobbin tension should be a rarely-needed thing--a last resort when nothing else explains tension problems. I would make any change in small increments and then test the results.
11/19/08 4:02 PM
Wally08 said...
What is the slight adjustment, so we can do it too?
11/18/08 8:12 PM
Joni2 said...
My Singer has a very small opening in the front for a tiny screwdriver that allows the bobbin tension to be adjusted. A lot of bobbin cases have a small adjustment screw on the outside of the case itself for increasing or decreasing the bobbin tension.
11/18/08 7:32 PM
j222b said...
So what exactly did MR repairman show you as to the adjustment of bobbin tension? Maybe his suggestion can be applied to other machines?
11/11/08 12:56 PM
ryansmumAria said...
how interesting- thanks for sharing!
11/11/08 9:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.