SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Coverstitch for quicker sewing

Viewed 5347 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/11/08 9:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I bought my coverstitch for looks, I had no clue that it would make my sewing MUCH quicker. Combine it with large Kai scissors to make cutting out faster and I'm making clothes quicker than I ever have before. I don't have much time to dedicate to personal sewing(although, I teach how to sew all day) so I must make the most of the little time I have. When I was a SAHM, I didn't emphasize speed as there was a little more time (not much energy with chasing little children around all day). SO if you need a good reason to get a coverstich (buy one cheap from Ken's Sewing Center online), this is it.
Yesterday morning, I thought I would see how long it took to make a simple tank top. I took a tee that fit well, put it on and used pins to redesign where I wanted the neckline to end and where I wanted the shoulder line. I cut out out the tank and between my serger and coverstich I sewed it up in less than 10 minutes. It took 10 minutes to figure out where to cut and then to cut it out. The time saving was due to being able to quickly coverstich the armhole, neckline and hemline. The machine is the simpliest to thread, like no other machine.
I'll eventually post the tank so you can see it. It looks so professional.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
carolrv said...
I live in an RV but I brought my sewing machine, serger and coverstitch machine! I severely edited my other possessions. Thanks for the tank top information. I had only thought of hemming the sleeves and bottom hems with the coverstitch, not as a neckline and armhole finish. Can't wait to try it1
6/26/10 7:40 AM
Norbs said...
I have a Juki MO735
12/21/08 11:54 AM
jls1981 said...
What type of serger do you have?
12/3/08 4:13 PM
Norbs said...
Could you tell me how to coverstitch over seams? I keep jamming it up?
11/27/08 4:25 PM
CShelley said...
I bought a Janome 900 from Ken's but I haven't used it yet. I need to get a larger table to hold all my machines - I hate being disorganized or having to swap machines in and out due to space issues. Thanks for motivating me though - can't wait to give it a try!
11/11/08 7:14 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I have the 900 janome but love it so much, I think I will now get the 1000. I use it all the time since I prefer working with knits. No, I really don't think you need a class but if one is available I would certainly take it to learn all the little tips. I learned from Debbie Cook's wonderful blog and I read the 300 page coverstitch thread. Great info. Next week, I will have more time so I will get some pictures posted. You probably have seen this stitch on ready-to-wear knits. On the front side of the garment you see double topstitching and on the back you see type of zigzag. There is alot of stretch in the stitch. It's beautiful!
11/11/08 2:21 PM
j222b said...
What brand/model coverstitch do you have? Simple threading seems a PLUS. Seems like you think local purchasing of a coverstitch with lessons is unnecessary? Are the coverstitch THAT easy to figure out? I'd love to see your tank top review-I'm not even totally sure what the coverstitch does. RYANSMUM: Thanks. You're a great teacher!
11/11/08 12:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.