SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Make an Extra Large Thread Rack

Viewed 6465 times
Posted by: Diane Slade Inc
photo

 
 
About Diane Slade Inc star
MI USA
Member since: 9/28/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/08 4:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Make a Thread Rack with Peg board, dowels and wood glue from the hardware store!

It makes a sturdy hanging thread rack for holding serger style spools and smaller ones too. I used a dremel to cut the dowels and glued them on a slight angle. Cheaper than many, but not necessarily prettier. :)

Its on my blog:
http://thoughtsfromaseamstress.blogspot.com/2008/11/make-extra-large-thread-rack.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
I bought one of those Sulky empty thread boxes - half price of $25 - and thought it was a good deal. It's nice for the little spools, and I've been looking for something similar for my larger spools and specialty threads. But, with your idea, I could make my own serger thread box, and just put the board in a plastic tub... Brilliant idea! Thanks!
11/13/08 6:45 PM
loghome4 said...
Love the do-it-yourself answer! I have some pegboard in the garage - I will try this!
11/14/08 12:10 PM
glenj said...
in sewing mode,functional always wins over prettier
11/14/08 4:36 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
Great idea - I have some pegboard also, and will get my husband to make one for me. Thanks.
11/16/08 10:00 PM
2muchfabric said...
Great Tip! Thanks for sharing your idea.
11/18/08 11:18 AM
newlywedws said...
What a fantastic idea to customise a spool rack!
11/23/08 11:55 PM
JennasMommy said...
What a wonderful idea! A great way to customize the rack to the size you need. Too bad I just ordered a 120 spool rack ;P. I'll have to try this once I fill up my current one. THANKS! ~~~~Mary
12/4/08 2:33 PM
junem1 said...
That is a great idea and more reasonable cost too. I used a shallow drawer (put corkboard in it), 3x4 ziplock baggies, pushpins and organize the spools and bobbins by color; it hangs on the wall; it works pretty good, too. I can find the color and bobbin easier.
12/5/08 3:18 PM
MENJ said...
Love the idea.
2/13/10 3:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.