SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Make an Extra Large Thread Rack

Viewed 6750 times
Posted by: Diane Slade Inc
photo

 
 
About Diane Slade Inc star
MI USA
Member since: 9/28/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/08 4:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Make a Thread Rack with Peg board, dowels and wood glue from the hardware store!

It makes a sturdy hanging thread rack for holding serger style spools and smaller ones too. I used a dremel to cut the dowels and glued them on a slight angle. Cheaper than many, but not necessarily prettier. :)

Its on my blog:
http://thoughtsfromaseamstress.blogspot.com/2008/11/make-extra-large-thread-rack.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MENJ said...
Love the idea.
2/13/10 3:48 PM
junem1 said...
That is a great idea and more reasonable cost too. I used a shallow drawer (put corkboard in it), 3x4 ziplock baggies, pushpins and organize the spools and bobbins by color; it hangs on the wall; it works pretty good, too. I can find the color and bobbin easier.
12/5/08 3:18 PM
JennasMommy said...
What a wonderful idea! A great way to customize the rack to the size you need. Too bad I just ordered a 120 spool rack ;P. I'll have to try this once I fill up my current one. THANKS! ~~~~Mary
12/4/08 2:33 PM
newlywedws said...
What a fantastic idea to customise a spool rack!
11/23/08 11:55 PM
2muchfabric said...
Great Tip! Thanks for sharing your idea.
11/18/08 11:18 AM
Sarah J Doyle said...
Great idea - I have some pegboard also, and will get my husband to make one for me. Thanks.
11/16/08 10:00 PM
glenj said...
in sewing mode,functional always wins over prettier
11/14/08 4:36 PM
loghome4 said...
Love the do-it-yourself answer! I have some pegboard in the garage - I will try this!
11/14/08 12:10 PM
quathy said...
I bought one of those Sulky empty thread boxes - half price of $25 - and thought it was a good deal. It's nice for the little spools, and I've been looking for something similar for my larger spools and specialty threads. But, with your idea, I could make my own serger thread box, and just put the board in a plastic tub... Brilliant idea! Thanks!
11/13/08 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.