SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Interesting uses for clear elastic

Viewed 5167 times
Posted by: Winifred
photo

 
 
About Winifred star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/29/05
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/13/08 6:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I bought a RTW top from Marks&Spencers and decided to lift the shoulders a bit (it was too low) I might as well have made it!! Anyway, I dicovered on undoing the neckband at each shoulder ( just the usual type band on a knitted top ) that threaded thru loose was clear elastic ! not stitched anywhere - presumably gives a bit of stability if attached at each end somewhere. Thought that was quite a good idea ? Also they had put hanging loops of clear elastic on the shoulder seams. Allows a bit of "give" when hanging. I will certainly do that. the shoulder seams were stabilisedwith the elastic too. They had serged it in with the seam. I've been doing it separately on my stretch stitch - dont know why ! Anyway you may be interested in 1 or more of these tips. The neck is still too low after all that - will have to put a modesty panel in!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
chrisquilts_2 said...
was the elastic threaded thru the neckband very thin?
11/14/08 10:02 AM
Doctor Sister said...
Interesting Idea. I'm making a knit top right now and was thinking the bias edging might be a little lightweight. I think I'll try this. Thanks,
11/14/08 3:37 PM
Winifred said...
chrisquilts_2 - Yes, the elastic was thinner than I buy in the pack. However I figured that the width I have would still be suitable for the usual kind of width of the band.It will go thru quite easily I think although I have yet to try it.
11/14/08 7:11 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Could you please explain to me how the neckline was done. Forgive me, I'm not able to picture but I am always eager to learn a new trick especially when it comes to necklines. Something I still struggle with. Thanks in advance
11/14/08 10:43 PM
Winifred said...
ryansmum- going away till Wed next- will deal with it in more detail on retun.Bye
11/15/08 4:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Winifred, how interesting about the 'ring' of clear elastic floating free inside the neckline. Don't think I would ever have thought of that. Thanks, Lily
11/20/08 3:06 PM
kathyking said...
thanks for giving us a laugh, Winifred! Sewing is such a solitary 'sport', but we can all identify with your experience. At least you discovered those neat tips to pass along!
1/27/09 8:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.