SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Interesting uses for clear elastic

Viewed 5209 times
Posted by: Winifred
photo

 
 
About Winifred star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/29/05
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/13/08 6:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I bought a RTW top from Marks&Spencers and decided to lift the shoulders a bit (it was too low) I might as well have made it!! Anyway, I dicovered on undoing the neckband at each shoulder ( just the usual type band on a knitted top ) that threaded thru loose was clear elastic ! not stitched anywhere - presumably gives a bit of stability if attached at each end somewhere. Thought that was quite a good idea ? Also they had put hanging loops of clear elastic on the shoulder seams. Allows a bit of "give" when hanging. I will certainly do that. the shoulder seams were stabilisedwith the elastic too. They had serged it in with the seam. I've been doing it separately on my stretch stitch - dont know why ! Anyway you may be interested in 1 or more of these tips. The neck is still too low after all that - will have to put a modesty panel in!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
chrisquilts_2 said...
was the elastic threaded thru the neckband very thin?
11/14/08 10:02 AM
Doctor Sister said...
Interesting Idea. I'm making a knit top right now and was thinking the bias edging might be a little lightweight. I think I'll try this. Thanks,
11/14/08 3:37 PM
Winifred said...
chrisquilts_2 - Yes, the elastic was thinner than I buy in the pack. However I figured that the width I have would still be suitable for the usual kind of width of the band.It will go thru quite easily I think although I have yet to try it.
11/14/08 7:11 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Could you please explain to me how the neckline was done. Forgive me, I'm not able to picture but I am always eager to learn a new trick especially when it comes to necklines. Something I still struggle with. Thanks in advance
11/14/08 10:43 PM
Winifred said...
ryansmum- going away till Wed next- will deal with it in more detail on retun.Bye
11/15/08 4:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Winifred, how interesting about the 'ring' of clear elastic floating free inside the neckline. Don't think I would ever have thought of that. Thanks, Lily
11/20/08 3:06 PM
kathyking said...
thanks for giving us a laugh, Winifred! Sewing is such a solitary 'sport', but we can all identify with your experience. At least you discovered those neat tips to pass along!
1/27/09 8:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.