SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > another use for buttonhole elastic - fit your ironing board cover

Viewed 5309 times
Posted by: Orsi
photo

 
 
About Orsi star
NJ USA
Member since: 11/7/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/11/08 1:46 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For a long time i wanted a good cover for my ironing board, and was not happy with the commercial ones. Main thing was to be able to take it off easily and wash.

Then saw a board cover on a web site from Australia, I think that gave the idea. I used some wool fabric and a cotton to cover, both cut to size leaving several inches for the side and to go under the board. Serged the edge of the cotton and added buttons at about 5 inches apart to the edge all around. I used buttonhole elastic to tighten the cover on my board buttoning the elastic in a zig-zag from one side to the other. It is easy to put on and take off and is rock solid on my board.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
glenj said...
I love your tip,and am going to use it.BUT whhat i find funny is,Im an australian,on an american website,getting a tip from a person from sweden,who got the idea from an australin website :))
2/4/09 0:17 AM
sewtime said...
Great idea!! Thanks!
12/16/08 11:07 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
WOW! I'd never thought about that! I do need a new ironing board cover as well, so looks like I'll be heading back to ebay and order some more. Thanks!!
12/13/08 4:56 PM
Orsi said...
I actually have not taken it off yet, as I only iron when I sew, and not much of that recently. It needs a wash now, and will probably wash the cotton only. Try to get a picture added. If only my board was as sturdy as the cover!
12/13/08 2:19 PM
Karine said...
thanks for the great tip! I've been wanting to re-cover my ironing board for a year, and haven't figured out a way that made sense. I'm definitely going to try this.
12/12/08 5:51 PM
Chersews said...
If you have a chance, please add add a photo. This sounds like an easy and cheap solution!
12/12/08 4:03 PM
Sewnla said...
What a clever idea, thanks for sharing.
12/12/08 11:09 AM
Dianne Sebastopol CA said...
Thank you Orsi! I've been going through the same dilemna as you and thank you from the bottom of my heart for your idea and clear directions. Do you just leave the wool in place and remove and wash only the cotton cover? Happy Holidays! Dianne Lindroth Raabe
12/12/08 9:07 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
Great tip! Thanks.
12/12/08 0:26 AM
salt.light said...
Neat Idea! Thanks
12/12/08 0:10 AM
Barbara3 said...
What a great idea - thanks for that.
12/11/08 8:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.