SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Another way to organize patterns online

Viewed 5346 times
Posted by: 1handfull
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 1handfull
SC
Member since: 4/30/07
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/13/08 11:49 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
http://picasaweb.google.com/1handfull/PatternCatalog?authkey=mZi2uTtYXug#

I use Picassa web (Google pictures). I find a picture of my pattern or scan my copy and save the photo to my google photo album. I save the pictures from anywhere I can find them - ebay, the pattern companies, whatever. Each photo it identified by the pattern name. Then I add info about the pattern. I usually indicate it it has been cut, cut apart, whether or not I have made it, and any changes I have made.

This lets me look through all my patterns easily. If I see one that I'm interested in, I click on it and see if there are any notes.

This is my first tip. Please tell me how I can make it better. I write worse than I sew.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
You wrote a fine review. The link is especially helpful. One picture is worth a thousand words as they say....
12/13/08 1:36 PM
LorelleD said...
Good idea. Thanks for sharing
12/13/08 7:28 PM
mhk3boys said...
I will have to try this and let you know!
12/13/08 7:29 PM
Quilt2Quilt said...
I think this is a great tip. I've never left a tip myself, but certainly enjoyed learning this tip. I think it will really help me get organized with my patterns. I think your tip writing was fine and having the link to click was excellent.
12/13/08 9:24 PM
Susan M said...
I love how you can add comments easily to your catalog.
12/13/08 9:40 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Neat idea! It is nice to see all the patterns at once. I might have to give this a try. Nice review also!
12/14/08 0:15 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks, good tip!
12/14/08 1:23 AM
Kath in ON said...
Thanks for the tip. I've been saving the pictures on my computer, but this would let me access them away from home...
12/14/08 9:44 AM
MelC said...
What a cool idea! Thanks for sharing!
12/14/08 4:17 PM
susan39150 said...
Really like this idea. It seems no matter how hard I try I can't keep my patterns organized but if I log them in as soon as I get one then this would work.
12/16/08 8:53 AM
1handfull said...
I am still logging in patterns. sigh. I knew I wouldn't be able to do it in one sitting, or even one weekend, but I wanted to start. I am pretty good about entering them as soon as I get them home when I get new ones. I just hoped that this would help somebody else who likes to be able to see the patterns like a catalog.
12/16/08 4:27 PM
quathy said...
Good idea! You're sewing must be great ;)
12/22/08 7:03 PM
aschemidt said...
Great idea!
1/3/09 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.