SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Another way to organize patterns online

Viewed 5286 times
Posted by: 1handfull
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 1handfull
SC
Member since: 4/30/07
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/13/08 11:49 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
http://picasaweb.google.com/1handfull/PatternCatalog?authkey=mZi2uTtYXug#

I use Picassa web (Google pictures). I find a picture of my pattern or scan my copy and save the photo to my google photo album. I save the pictures from anywhere I can find them - ebay, the pattern companies, whatever. Each photo it identified by the pattern name. Then I add info about the pattern. I usually indicate it it has been cut, cut apart, whether or not I have made it, and any changes I have made.

This lets me look through all my patterns easily. If I see one that I'm interested in, I click on it and see if there are any notes.

This is my first tip. Please tell me how I can make it better. I write worse than I sew.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
You wrote a fine review. The link is especially helpful. One picture is worth a thousand words as they say....
12/13/08 1:36 PM
LorelleD said...
Good idea. Thanks for sharing
12/13/08 7:28 PM
mhk3boys said...
I will have to try this and let you know!
12/13/08 7:29 PM
Quilt2Quilt said...
I think this is a great tip. I've never left a tip myself, but certainly enjoyed learning this tip. I think it will really help me get organized with my patterns. I think your tip writing was fine and having the link to click was excellent.
12/13/08 9:24 PM
Susan M said...
I love how you can add comments easily to your catalog.
12/13/08 9:40 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Neat idea! It is nice to see all the patterns at once. I might have to give this a try. Nice review also!
12/14/08 0:15 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks, good tip!
12/14/08 1:23 AM
Kath in ON said...
Thanks for the tip. I've been saving the pictures on my computer, but this would let me access them away from home...
12/14/08 9:44 AM
MelC said...
What a cool idea! Thanks for sharing!
12/14/08 4:17 PM
susan39150 said...
Really like this idea. It seems no matter how hard I try I can't keep my patterns organized but if I log them in as soon as I get one then this would work.
12/16/08 8:53 AM
1handfull said...
I am still logging in patterns. sigh. I knew I wouldn't be able to do it in one sitting, or even one weekend, but I wanted to start. I am pretty good about entering them as soon as I get them home when I get new ones. I just hoped that this would help somebody else who likes to be able to see the patterns like a catalog.
12/16/08 4:27 PM
quathy said...
Good idea! You're sewing must be great ;)
12/22/08 7:03 PM
aschemidt said...
Great idea!
1/3/09 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.