SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stop your straps slipping!

Viewed 5389 times
Posted by: KateS
photo

 
 
About KateS star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/09 7:28 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I found this idea in an old Australian Stitches magazine.
To stop dress/top straps from slipping off your shoulders, insert elastic into the straps when making your garment.
Make sure you only make the elastic slightly shorter than the straps or else they will really dig in!
I used clear elastic in my Kwik Sew top here. The magazine demonstrated with regular elastic.
Either way it stops those pesky straps slipping off all the time and makes it easier to hide your bra straps underneath!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Joann Eidhoff said...
Another way to stop slipping straps is to be sure the ends of the straps in the back begin between your shoulder blades. This has worked every time for me.
1/2/09 7:05 AM
Sarah J Doyle said...
Good idea, and I agree with Joann Eidhoff about making sure the ends of the straps begin between your shoulder blades -- this has always worked for me too.
1/5/09 6:25 PM
craftygamma said...
What is the Kwik Sew Pattern number. I would like to try this for my daughter.
1/19/09 7:53 AM
bkool said...
Good tip. I have more-than-average slope from the base of the neck to the shoulder, so I'll give this a try. Thanks.
1/23/09 6:26 PM
sewtime said...
Thanks for this idea!!
1/27/09 7:56 PM
KateS said...
Craftygamma the pattern number is 2955, it was originally a dress pattern that I shortened to a top when trying to work out a full bust alteration for it :)
1/30/09 6:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.