SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Replace your Rotary blades, Dont sharpen

Viewed 5290 times
Posted by: Restart06
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Restart06 star
Member since: 10/29/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/3/09 10:12 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have been using rotary cutting for a couple of years, and purchased the sharpening kits for the 45mm & 60mm to prolong use of the rotary blades. This was more environmentally friendly & to save money. I have sharpened both the 45mm & 60mm blades. After cutting lots of fleece, my hand /wrist starting having shooting pain. After placing in new blades and the fleece cutting like butter, I realized the problem was the blades I sharpened are not anywhere as sharp as a new one. I have not been able to sharpen the used blade to be the same sharpness with these blade sharpeners as as a new one. So long story short to prevent hand/wrist problems just replace your blades with a new one. Saves on pain, and speeds up your rotary cutting.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
diane s said...
I have my husband sharpen the blades when he watches TV. I found I didn't have enough strength to make the blades sharp, but he does.
1/4/09 0:39 AM
MichelleJ said...
These "sharpeners" will not truly sharpen a dull blade. However, they are very effective in keeping a blade sharp. I sharpen often, often, often - and that works quite well. I do a lot of cutting and replace my blades about once a year.
1/4/09 9:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
My other half sharpens my blades, too. They seem to work just fine after he does it.
1/4/09 12:59 PM
Restart06 said...
After reading the 3 responses, tried sharpening again a not so used blade, didn't work. I use olfa bladesin my olfa cutters. I cut alot due to quilting and right now cutting thru alot of fleece for scarves & wraps to send on a mission trip.
1/4/09 2:17 PM
nancy2001 said...
Another trick to revive dull rotary blades is to use a little Tri-Flow lubricant on them. It really works.
1/5/09 10:56 AM
Sarah J Doyle said...
My husband is the "sharpener" in the family, and does a good job; however I do replace them about once a year - figure I've gotten my money's worth out of them during that length of time.
1/7/09 4:04 PM
sewtime said...
I have found the same thing out!!! Glad it was not my bad sharpening!! I kept trying it over and over doesn't come close to the new blade!! Thank you for sharing this!
1/27/09 7:55 PM
gerty said...
Great tip for someone who was just going to buy the blade sharpener.
1/28/09 0:35 AM
quathy said...
I find that simply keeping the blades clean helps a lot. Tiny dust fragments really get in the way of a good cut. I use and old piece of lint-free fabric to gently wipe the blade from the center out on both sides - being extremely careful that I don't cut myself! - and then put a drop of oil on the screw that holds the blade in. I also clean my mat with a dry scrub sponge that you would normally use on Teflon cookware. Works for me!
1/28/09 11:50 AM
gardenmartian said...
This is good to know. I was going to purchase one of the sharpening kits. Now I'll just get a new blade.
2/10/09 3:44 PM
BonnieLee said...
I have thought about sharpeners many times. I'm glad I didn't purchase any--already have enough wrist problems! Thanks!!
8/15/09 1:01 PM
grammikins said...
I agree! I bought the sharpener & it's useless & a waste of money.
10/27/09 9:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.