SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Replace your Rotary blades, Dont sharpen

Viewed 5428 times
Posted by: Restart06
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Restart06 star
Member since: 10/29/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/3/09 10:12 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have been using rotary cutting for a couple of years, and purchased the sharpening kits for the 45mm & 60mm to prolong use of the rotary blades. This was more environmentally friendly & to save money. I have sharpened both the 45mm & 60mm blades. After cutting lots of fleece, my hand /wrist starting having shooting pain. After placing in new blades and the fleece cutting like butter, I realized the problem was the blades I sharpened are not anywhere as sharp as a new one. I have not been able to sharpen the used blade to be the same sharpness with these blade sharpeners as as a new one. So long story short to prevent hand/wrist problems just replace your blades with a new one. Saves on pain, and speeds up your rotary cutting.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
grammikins said...
I agree! I bought the sharpener & it's useless & a waste of money.
10/27/09 9:23 PM
BonnieLee said...
I have thought about sharpeners many times. I'm glad I didn't purchase any--already have enough wrist problems! Thanks!!
8/15/09 1:01 PM
gardenmartian said...
This is good to know. I was going to purchase one of the sharpening kits. Now I'll just get a new blade.
2/10/09 3:44 PM
quathy said...
I find that simply keeping the blades clean helps a lot. Tiny dust fragments really get in the way of a good cut. I use and old piece of lint-free fabric to gently wipe the blade from the center out on both sides - being extremely careful that I don't cut myself! - and then put a drop of oil on the screw that holds the blade in. I also clean my mat with a dry scrub sponge that you would normally use on Teflon cookware. Works for me!
1/28/09 11:50 AM
gerty said...
Great tip for someone who was just going to buy the blade sharpener.
1/28/09 0:35 AM
sewtime said...
I have found the same thing out!!! Glad it was not my bad sharpening!! I kept trying it over and over doesn't come close to the new blade!! Thank you for sharing this!
1/27/09 7:55 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
My husband is the "sharpener" in the family, and does a good job; however I do replace them about once a year - figure I've gotten my money's worth out of them during that length of time.
1/7/09 4:04 PM
nancy2001 said...
Another trick to revive dull rotary blades is to use a little Tri-Flow lubricant on them. It really works.
1/5/09 10:56 AM
Restart06 said...
After reading the 3 responses, tried sharpening again a not so used blade, didn't work. I use olfa bladesin my olfa cutters. I cut alot due to quilting and right now cutting thru alot of fleece for scarves & wraps to send on a mission trip.
1/4/09 2:17 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
My other half sharpens my blades, too. They seem to work just fine after he does it.
1/4/09 12:59 PM
MichelleJ said...
These "sharpeners" will not truly sharpen a dull blade. However, they are very effective in keeping a blade sharp. I sharpen often, often, often - and that works quite well. I do a lot of cutting and replace my blades about once a year.
1/4/09 9:54 AM
diane s said...
I have my husband sharpen the blades when he watches TV. I found I didn't have enough strength to make the blades sharp, but he does.
1/4/09 0:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.