SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > re-using multi size patterns

Viewed 6794 times
Posted by: petro
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petro starstarstar
France
Member since: 6/24/07
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/13/09 2:24 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If you may want to use several sizes in a multi size pattern, of course you might take the time to trace it the first time you use it. I didn't have the time to do this and was looking for a different, quick solution. On many of the cutting lines, its possible to just fold away the bigger sizes, but on some lines, especially places like waist and yoke curves, you have to at least snip in to the curve to get it to fold away, and this makes the pattern a bit fragile when you come to spread it out for a larger size. A quick fix occurred to me when I was doing this recently and I'm passing it on in case its useful. In those curves where you know you will have to make crossing cuts to get the pattern to fold to one of the smaller sizes, if you first run some ordinary scotch tape over the area near the edge, then do your cutting out, you have a stronger pattern edge, which will survive being chopped around better. Its not an elegant solution, but its quick and works.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Another idea that works well for simple patterns is to cut the pattern piece out in a continuous way so the larger sized scrap is in one piece. Then save the outer piece so you can tape the pattern together if you need to. I've done this a couple of times on patterns without too many pattern pieces.
1/14/09 7:36 AM
Catbird said...
Thank you! That's an excellent idea.
1/14/09 8:38 AM
Alice said...
I think I'll just stick with making a copy. I just watched a video talking about that. I could never figure out where to put/add the seam allowance. Sandra B. tell it's the smaller line which she says is the 5/8" needed. Who knew?? When I get into all that it starts getting over my poor head. Guess it's part of getting/being old, lol
1/14/09 6:18 PM
HatBuddy said...
Excellent Idea Thanks I will try it right now!
1/14/09 7:31 PM
wendlesue said...
Great idea
1/15/09 9:54 AM
sew2006 said...
I always try to keep the multi size patterns intack for future use. I also fold on the long lines like you describe, but where the curves are or I'm using a smaller size I place a tracing paper under the pattern and use a smooth non sererated tracing wheel and trace those cutting lines. (same tools used to mark darts). Then simply lift up that section of the pattern and cut on the traced line. Since the start of the contest I used this method to cut out 15 garments from several patters and all sizes are intack for future use.
1/15/09 8:56 PM
MSMICA said...
I agree with sew2006... I usually cut the pattern paper out a the largest size leaving all the cutting lines in tact. When I need to use a smaller size, I just trace the appropriate lines and markings then lift up the pattern to cut the fabric only.
1/25/09 10:17 AM
carolrv said...
Great idea! Because who doesn't have scotch tape? I have also discovered that they make a "low tack" version (it has the same adhesive as post-it notes). I keep a roll of that handy too. I found it at an office supply store.
6/26/10 6:51 AM
sewingluv said...
Another idea I found while cutting a multi-size pattern for children. Especially when you are cutting a larger size, the armholes and neckline are not always drawn on the outer lines (sometimes the neckline is below the smaller sizes). I simply use a tracing paper and trace the larger size line on the right side of the fabric and cut on the tracing line.
7/27/12 7:11 PM
saffjb said...
I discovered years ago that scotch isn't the best tape for patterns--because when you iron the pattern, it burns and shrinks! I use masking tape, which can be ironed safely forever.
7/8/13 2:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.