SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Tie Interfacing for easing in a sleeve

Viewed 5950 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/2/03 2:54 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.


This method took me a little bit of practice, but by the second time I used the technique, I was setting in sleeves like a pro. It won't work on sleeves that have heavily gathered heads, but for tailored jackets it's a great help.

You can buy tie interfacing (trade name is Armo Rite) from tailoring supply houses, such as Oregon Tailor Supply Co. Peggy Sagers also sells it.

By the way, I have no affiliation with Peggy, I just think this is a very neat way to ease in a sleeve.
-HTH, Ann

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Ann, adding to your tip: I read in one of Nancy Zieman's books that you can use Seams Great for lighter weight fabrics. But, I think you use much less than 16" on a blouse.
6/2/03 3:32 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
100 weight polar fleece works too.....
6/2/03 3:39 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
The Sewing Place also carries Armo Rite.
6/2/03 6:20 PM
els said...
just like MaryT addes you can use Seams Great to ease your sleeves but you have to meassure the lenghts of your armhole between the dots which must be matched with the dots on your sleeve The lenght of that ( armhole )meassurement is the lenght of the seams great what you need to sew on your sleeve.Place the seams great from dot to dot pin it down and sew it with a long machine stitch while it is stretched on the same manner as Georgeous Things described ,after sewing the seams great the sleeve will spring back to the original lenght of the seasms great ,which is now matching the same lenght as the armhole.
6/2/03 8:50 PM
Loreli said...
Ann I have also tried what you described and was very satisfied. I got some nice tie facing that are washable and I used it in blouses too.
6/5/03 5:43 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I forgot to add one thing! After stitching the interfacing, trim off any excess! :) Ann
6/5/03 7:20 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I tried this technique for the first time a few months ago when I was making a lightweight wool coat. It worked beautifully. I was too lazy to drive to the store for the umpteenth time, so I disected one of DH's old ties. It had 2 layers of interfacing in it - one for each sleeve. Perfect.
6/7/03 9:25 AM
Amparo said...
Thanks for sharing your tip. I will try it in my next project.
6/10/03 7:48 PM
Henrietta Talfourd-Jones said...
Ann, I have just tried this method and I have to admit that at first after attaching the tie interfacing to one sleeve of my Linen Jacket (I wanted to test it out first, afterall it is less time consuming to rip out one sleeve than two) and after placing it on my sleeve ham, I was very sceptical as it didn't look as if it had been drawn in enough. After steaming it, I went to place it in into the armseye, low and behold, it worked!! This is probably the easiest time I have ever had in inserting a sleeve Lets just hope that it works on the next one as well. I had originally seen Peggy Sagers do it at the Chantilly Expo, but didn't realise how easy it was. Thanks for your review on this
8/12/03 7:06 AM
AnneM said...
I really have to read the tips section more often! This is a very interesting tip; thanks Ann & all who added with the comments.
8/12/03 10:29 AM
Julie said...
thanks! I have some of the Armo interfacing in my scrap box but couldn't remember the brand name! I used to work in a tailor supply company and haven't sewn a tie in several years. This year my 12 year old is really interested in ties so I thought I'd make he and his father matching ties. I tried our local fabric store but they had no idea! Thank you for this timely tip. I've used it many times when I tailored jackets for customers and it does make the nicest sleeve heads!
11/1/06 5:51 PM
slee said...
Great tip! I will try this next time. Also, if you don't have any armo rite or tie interfacing around, you can use any wool fabric, preferably something with the same weight or lighter than your garment fabric. Save the scrap fabrics from any of your wool projects. Cut a bias strip of the wool fabric widths of 1 to 2 inches and a length that is the same length of the sleeve head from notch to notch. Baste this strip along the sleeve from notch to notch. Then sew the sleeve onto the garment. Trim off any extra excess. After steaming it with an iron on a ham, you will have a beautiful sew in sleeve. The wool bias strip also acts as a sleeve head.
11/16/06 11:10 AM
3HoursPast said...
Wowie. I'm gobsmacked. I had a silk tie lying around ready to be cut up for the facing piping in this jacket anyway, so I was pleased to use the interfacing, too. WOW. I'm making a jacket of hemp with a high sleeve head, I was having a hard time easing it perfectly, but this took all the work right out of it. Wow. I'm using this forever, and teaching my students to.
11/7/09 2:28 AM
3HoursPast said...
Truly fantastic.
11/7/09 2:28 AM
sewingsilly said...
I never knew this method of inserting a sleeve. I think it's interesting and look forward to trying it on my next jacket.
8/4/10 5:35 PM
clumsyFingers said...
I just tried this on a silk blouse, with 1" bias strips of self-fabric. Worked like a charm. And I had added 1" width to the sleeve for my full upper arms. I will be using this for every sleeve from now on.
2/19/12 2:40 AM
sherrillann said...
Tie Interfacing for easing in a sleeve (Tip/Technique)
7/3/13 7:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.