SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Cheap spool/bobbin keeper

Viewed 5533 times
Posted by: Diana M
photo

 
 
About Diana M star
WA USA
Member since: 4/19/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/22/09 6:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
There are handy little plastic deely-bobs on the market that snap a bobbin to the top of the thread spool to keep them together -- a really great idea, since lots of machines don't care much for different threads top and bottom (my vintage Kenmore included.)

This idea is fast, really cheap, and works just fine for me! Loop a rubber band through the bobbin, then around the thread spool enough times to keep it secure. The rubber band keeps the bobbin thread from unwinding, but I still have to slip the spool thread through it's little keeper.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MissTaraTara said...
Clever!
1/23/09 0:18 AM
christine A said...
This is such a no brainer- why did't we think of it sooner? Thans for such an easy practical tip!!
1/23/09 9:23 AM
Berniev said...
thank you ! good tip.
1/23/09 9:55 AM
Susan M said...
Creative idea!
1/23/09 2:50 PM
ktsews2 said...
Great tip to try!
1/23/09 3:51 PM
Brine said...
I like the idea for short term storage, but do keep in mind that over time rubber bands may deteriorate and break and/or leave a residue on the bobbin or spool.
1/24/09 11:31 AM
sewtime said...
Thanks for this tip, love it!! Thank you!
1/27/09 7:51 PM
glenj said...
If your worried about rubber bands,then use hat elastic.its a great tip,and one you don't have to fork out big $$$ for.Thanks for sharing it.
1/30/09 5:27 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
Thank you for the picture of the tip and the tip itself!
1/31/09 8:40 PM
moonchild61 said...
Thank you. This is a great idea!
2/4/09 9:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.