SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing Burda WOF Patterns w/Ink

Viewed 5462 times
Posted by: KrystalL
photo

 
 
About KrystalL starstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 6/27/05
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 56 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/11/09 1:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I finally figured out a way to trace Burda World of Fashion magazine patterns that works for me.

I pin my Utrecht vellum tracing paper to the pattern I want to trace. I make all of my internal markings (grainlines, ease markings, pocket placement, etc.) and then I ink my Clover double tracing wheel (set at 3/4") with water-based paper crafting ink (I used a Stampin' Up ink pad. You can find stamping/paper crafting ink at Michael's, A.C. Moore, etc.). I outline my chosen pattern with the inked wheel, and in doing so, I mark the cutting line as well as the seam line.

Another View

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


27 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Krystal, thank you for sharing this brilliant tip !!! I just tried it with my blunt Clover, double tracing wheel, using a good quality roll-on office ink on a regular stamp pad. I am in Australia, I buy generic brand, unwaxed lunch wrapping paper, commonly called "greaseproof paper" = about $2 for 30 metres. I trace all my patterns on this unwaxed paper and once the ink dried, there were no smudges.
1/28/10 0:34 AM
aireal said...
Yes, please tell us, I was wondering where to get this tracing paper also. And great tip. I've seen the double wheels, but never thought of this technique. Very clever
1/26/10 2:38 PM
aireal said...
Yes, please tell us, I was wondering where to get this tracing paper also.
1/26/10 2:36 PM
LizBa said...
I've been trying to figure out how to trace patterns so that I can keep all of the sizes and styles for future use. This is a great idea! Where do you find the vellum tracing paper? This is the one thing I haven't been able to find at my local sewing store.
1/26/10 11:00 AM
Elaray said...
Great idea! The best ideas are the simplest ideas.
5/23/09 6:36 AM
Charrlie said...
I am going to give it a try
3/6/09 1:05 AM
Boo97 said...
I have the clover double wheel- never used. Thanks Krystal for this wonderful tip!
2/22/09 0:43 AM
Fictionfan said...
This is excellent! I just received my double wheel tracing thing in the mail yesterday. I was thinking about how to get the pattern sheet from the Marfy catalog traced out, and now I don't have to do the trial and error. I don't think I'd ever have thought of using a stamp pad to ink the wheel! I did not even know there was a water-based ink pad available. Thank you!
2/21/09 1:55 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Great idea....I'm gonna' have to get one of those right away! Thanks!
2/21/09 10:53 AM
Elle D said...
Nice! I'll track down a Clover double tracing wheel and give this a try. Lots of BWOF patterns to practice on. Thanks for sharing.
2/19/09 12:18 PM
MamaSewing said...
How come I don't think of these things?? It is a brilliant idea!
2/17/09 10:25 AM
solosmocker said...
Great idea!
2/16/09 9:22 PM
loohoo44 said...
GREAT tip Krystal, thanks!
2/16/09 8:52 PM
busybee crafting said...
I am new to the BWOFM patterns and was trying to find tracing paper to copy the pattern. Your method is perfect. I already ordered my Clover DTW online tonight! Thanks!
2/15/09 10:21 PM
Merry G said...
awesome idea
2/14/09 1:30 PM
quathy said...
brilliant!
2/13/09 4:58 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
What an excellent tip, Krystal; thanks for sharing this. --Lily
2/12/09 10:29 PM
sewbehind said...
Thank you, Krystal!
2/12/09 3:13 PM
KrystalL said...
@ sewbehind, I used one of my extra Stampin' Up ink pads. You can find stamping ink at Michael's or A. C. Moore, or any craft supply store.
2/12/09 12:05 PM
cindyann said...
Very handy idea!
2/12/09 11:19 AM
Sharon1952 said...
I also use this method. I save my sort of dried up ink pads that way there isn't too much ink, but enough to see it. When it stops making marks just roll it across the ink pad again. Thanks for publishing this idea!
2/12/09 11:19 AM
Barbara3 said...
Very clever- thanks for that tip!
2/12/09 10:53 AM
Caitycat said...
AHA!!! Thanks!
2/12/09 5:47 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful idea ! Thanks for sharing :)
2/11/09 11:13 PM
Dru said...
Thanks Krystal, this is such a great idea I will be sure to use this tip as I have an over abundance of inks.
2/11/09 5:59 PM
sewbehind said...
How clever of you! Where do you find this water soluble paper crafting ink? Is it for scrapbooking? I'm not a scrapbooker, so don't know. I will definitely use this. Thanks.
2/11/09 3:42 PM
Diana M said...
Nifty idea for tracing of all kinds -- thanks!!
2/11/09 2:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.