SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Centered zipper - Easy & Neat!

Viewed 5230 times
Posted by:
photo

 
 
About
Member since: 12/31/69
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 0
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/14/09 0:40 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Though I do prefer an invisible zipper, sometimes it just isn't practical. So I usually end up centering an all purpose zip. This is when you sew the seam before installing the zip, and then top stitch on the right side of the fabric, on either side of the seamline, avoiding the zipper teeth.

The problem is you quite often end up with a bubble around the zipper pull as it hits the zipper foot. I've seen a lot of suggestions for getting around this by opening the zipper and sewing each side separately, then zipping it up and finishing etc. But honestly I find that to be really fidley.

I find it much easier to & quicker to simply buy a zipper a few inches longer than I need, and then putting the pull end of the zipper above the edge of the garment. That way you can easily top stitch the zip in place, then unzip it, fold down or trim the excess and finish up.

It's much easier and neater in my opinion.

Detailed photos & steps on my blog

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KSD said...
I am blessed with several zipper foot options but I need this tip-makes sew much sense
11/28/09 8:19 PM
Jeannie14 said...
excellent tip!!!!
5/7/09 7:11 PM
EleanorSews said...
With invisible zippers used so much more, we tend to forget about standard zippers. This is a one of those tips that once you try it, you wonder why you either had not thought of it before or never tried it before. Thanks for posting.
3/6/09 9:41 AM
Charrlie said...
Looks great
3/6/09 0:42 AM
ginaT said...
Seen this before though not tried it yet but would be a good way of utilizing the odd sizes in the zipper stash.
2/17/09 5:15 PM
solosmocker said...
I have the square on my Pfaff but I don't think anything beats a ski foot zipper foot for installing a zipper. I sometimes drag out the old Kenmore to do this.
2/16/09 9:20 PM
jeanharville said...
I love the square zipper foot that came with my Pfaff. You just adjust the needle out to the very edge of it and it sews as close or closer that the other design. Plus if you are using a Pfaff it keeps the fabric and zipper even with each other.
2/16/09 4:41 PM
said...
Joan -Those square feet are just hell aren't they? Meanwhile, I didn't realise you could still buy the narrow feet!! I had one with my first machine but not since then, every machine I've had since then has this evil foot. Might need to track one down - would definitely remove the need to be sneaky! Thanks for the suggestion!
2/15/09 5:42 PM
annie11 said...
Great idea! Thanks for sharing.
2/15/09 4:51 PM
Vintage Joan said...
That's very clever! :) I think I see why you have trouble getting around the zipper pull, though. It appears you have one of those weird square zipper feet, like the one that came with my new Kenmore. I have no idea how people use those (well, other than your clever technique). You shouldn't have this issue using a traditional long, narrow sliding zipper foot. It just politely scoots along next to the zipper pull, no problem -- doesn't hit it at all. One of the first things I did when I began using my Kenmore was to get a user-friendly zipper foot. :) (To learn more, see my agonized post from when I tried to use the square zipper foot -- http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=37398)
2/14/09 10:07 PM
EleanorSews said...
This is a timely reminder for anyone using a standard zipper.
2/14/09 11:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.