Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Shirring Tutorial (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5463 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 43 people   
Posted by: Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLu starstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/28/09 10:33 PM
I have made this tutorial for those of you who want to learn how to shirr.

Here areStep #1, Step #2, Step #3, Step #4, Step #5, Step #6, Step #7, Step #8, Step #9, Step #10, and Step #11.

Here is the link to the photo album of the tutorial.

If you want to you can stop shirring after one row, two rows, or even ten rows. It doesn't "have" to be exactly five rows if you don't want it to be. You can make it any amount of rows that you want it to be!!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT tutorial, Meggie! When I'm stitching across, am I just holding my fabric taut then, and the elastic thread actually does the gathering for me?
2/28/09 10:44 PM
Annette1 said...
P.S. But I don't WAAAAAAAAAAAANA' wind it by HAND! :O))
2/28/09 10:45 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, yes you are holding the fabric taunt and the elastic thread does the gathering for you.
2/28/09 10:48 PM
althea said...
Thanks so much for that. Great timing. There is a little girls shirred top in the BWOF that I received just today. I was wondering how to do the shirring. lo and behold I noticed your tutorial tonight . How fun.
2/28/09 11:49 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Oh...thank-you, thank-you, thank-you!!!!
3/1/09 4:56 AM
Tempest61 said...
Very helpful tutorial. I haven't sewn for a long time and any technique will help
3/1/09 7:11 AM
sewknitful said...
Thank you for this - it's great! I think you have a real gift for teaching. I look forward to more.
3/1/09 12:07 PM
Patzee said...
Excellent tutorial and technique. Thanks!
3/1/09 11:21 PM
callmeRuth said...
What a great tutorial! I'm going to try it one of these days--a new technique for me. Thank you for showing how!
3/2/09 9:17 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for all of the hard work you put into this shirring tutorial!!!
3/4/09 12:38 PM
AMN said...
Meggie, this is a super tutorial! You did great. I hope you make many more. You are amazing for being only 16yo. Keep up the great work and I see you writing your own book in the future! P.S. I come from a family of 11 kids and I'm the only one who sews! It's a lonely hobby around here.
3/6/09 12:32 PM
SNIFFELS said...
THAT WAS THE BEST EVER!!! I AM ENCOURAGED TO ATTEMPT THAT TECHNIQUE,YOU MADE IT LOOK SO EASY. MY ONLY FEAR IS THE BOBBIN AS I AM AFRAID IT MIGHT HURT THE BOBBIN CASE.
3/7/09 1:52 PM
AdaF said...
Thank you! I was wondering how that was done!!! Great tutorial!!! Keep at it! I'll be checking often to see if there are more of your tutorials.
3/8/09 9:33 AM
DadySewCool said...
Great tip Meggie LuLu! I normally would take out the project and try to make the shirring by manipulating the threads, sometimes breaking either the needle or bobbin thread. I will try this later today.
4/4/09 4:03 AM
teresad2297 said...
thanks for this tutorial - I'm going to give it a try!
4/13/09 12:45 PM
HeyJane said...
Meggie this is a really excellent tutorial. I've always wanted to try this but stopped at "wind the bobbin by hand" LOL. I will stop being lazy, and try it. Jane
5/5/09 9:17 AM
cath46 said...
The tutorial looks great. I was just thinking about shirring a bodice of the dress I am making my grand daughter.
5/10/09 0:27 AM
Sherril Miller said...
This is the technique I use too. I love that it doesn't leave loose ends that might come undone.
6/28/09 0:57 AM
katie lynne said...
Oh Meggie, this is SO COOL! I can't wait to try this (for a nightgown to begin with, which I sorely need). I, too, cannot believe your ability to instruct and demonstrate so easily and SO WELL. I'll be proud to say "she taught me how to do shirring when she was just 16"...because in the future I know you will be a brilliant fashion designer! I can't wait. :-) Thank you so much for this.
8/14/09 5:32 PM
Sici said...
Fantastic! Never thought of this. Is there a specific size of elastic thread best used for machine shirring? I'm going to buy some and have a try!
8/31/09 6:24 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Sici, as far as I know the elastic thread only comes in one size. It comes on a roll and you can buy it at JoAnn's or Hancock's and even some Walmarts sell it. (I'm not affiliated with any of these companies)
9/1/09 7:10 PM
Scousegal said...
One of the few times 'I' can follow the photos of instructions. Super work
8/19/11 7:13 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us