SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > seam ripper

Viewed 5217 times
Posted by: beginagain
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About beginagain star
KY USA
Member since: 10/30/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/10/09 3:52 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
One of the threads was talking about seam rippers. One point was we sometimes don't want to put out the money for a good one (one that cuts not pulls). I was just using my new one( a cheapie) and it was cutting fine. Then it dawned on me. How often do you replace them? We all know to replace needles, get our scisors sharpened or replaced, put new blades in the rotary cutter, and for special projects we buy new pins. We expect those hard used seam rippers to last for years or until we lose them. They have blades too and many of us are sewing with polyester thread which is tough. Seam ripping is never going to be a fun thing but we can give ourselves a break by making sure are rippers get replaced occasionally.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
I have a collection of seam rippers that don't seem to do the job anymore -- it's probably time to toss them. I hate waste, but sometimes that's the way it goes.
3/10/09 5:34 PM
Winifred said...
That makes a lot of sense Beginagain. I have never thought of it before !! Thanks
3/10/09 6:56 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Very true. Thanks for the reminder.
3/11/09 0:38 AM
Patti B said...
I have a flock of seam rippers and my all time favorite is the one that came with my Bernina. It has some magical shaping to the end of the point that makes it just glide through. I have several Clover brand rippers and they are good but not as good. Is there such a thing as seam ripper fetish? If so, I have it!
3/11/09 10:53 AM
sewknitful said...
Good point! (inadvertent pun there)
3/11/09 11:00 AM
Pamela H said...
I tear apart cheer uniforms for the teams at the studio my daughter goes to. At least twice a year I do at least 50 uniforms. The hard part is the ripping, so I use a seam ripper with blades that can be replaced. A new sharp blade makes all the difference.
3/15/09 0:23 AM
kuecker said...
I have one of those surgical knife type rippers. The blades can be changed. I love it. You just have to be careful to put it back in the cover each time.
3/22/09 7:16 PM
katie lynne said...
Well stated! Its not like I need an excuse to buy the very best, but your explanation says it all...
8/14/09 5:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.