SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Forty-one cent buttonhole

Viewed 5249 times
Posted by: knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeen starstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/1/09 6:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Have you ever tried making a buttonhole when the button would not easily fit into your buttonhole attachment because of shape or thickness? Do what I do. I keep forty-one cents, a quarter, a nickel, a dime and a penny on my sewing table. When it's time to make a buttonhole I grab the coin that is closest in size to the button and insert it into the buttonhole attachment. The coins are flat and fit perfectly. I've been doing it for years without any mishaps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
That is a great idea/tip!
12/12/10 1:22 AM
Alice said...
Girl, you are brilliant, I'll surely be trying that one.
10/3/10 9:14 PM
skysthelimit said...
Great idea, thank you!
5/5/10 9:38 PM
Clippy said...
What a super idea!! thank you!
7/26/09 6:39 PM
BeckyinFC said...
I had this problem just the other day with a shank button and my new machine! Wish I had seen this before. Next time, I'll try it. Thanks so much for sharing.
4/28/09 5:58 PM
catsmeow said...
Clever title, and a great idea!
4/8/09 11:58 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
great tip!!
4/7/09 4:11 PM
glenj said...
nice tip,but I just open the attachment where the button should go and add a little extra for the thickness of the button if need be.You don't need to put the button in the attachment.
4/4/09 9:11 AM
sewknitful said...
What a great idea!
4/3/09 11:34 AM
librarylady said...
Brilliant. Thanks for the tip
4/2/09 5:48 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Yes, this has happened to me!! LOVE this tip!! Clever title too. Thanks for sharing, knitmachinequeen! Carla
4/2/09 4:31 PM
jeanharville said...
How creative! Thanks, jean
4/2/09 12:53 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...I am in awe!! What a terrific idea! Of course I never thought of that. I never do think of these great ideas! You know, this makes sense, and is so very helpful! Thanks!
4/2/09 9:56 AM
gaginny said...
that is a great tip......why didn't i think of that?
4/2/09 9:49 AM
dollieo said...
Now this is a great tip. I have been sewing for years and have had that same problem afew time and not found a solution. Thank you so much for sharing. I now keep 41 cents by my machine.
4/2/09 9:27 AM
woole bully said...
what a great idea! i can't wait to try it.
4/2/09 9:00 AM
nancy2001 said...
How clever.
4/2/09 8:44 AM
arianamaniacs said...
thanks, good one
4/2/09 5:51 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! What a great idea!
4/2/09 1:59 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Great idea! Thanks : )
4/1/09 11:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.