SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Forty-one cent buttonhole

Viewed 5206 times
Posted by: knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeen starstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 69 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/1/09 6:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Have you ever tried making a buttonhole when the button would not easily fit into your buttonhole attachment because of shape or thickness? Do what I do. I keep forty-one cents, a quarter, a nickel, a dime and a penny on my sewing table. When it's time to make a buttonhole I grab the coin that is closest in size to the button and insert it into the buttonhole attachment. The coins are flat and fit perfectly. I've been doing it for years without any mishaps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
Great idea! Thanks : )
4/1/09 11:47 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! What a great idea!
4/2/09 1:59 AM
arianamaniacs said...
thanks, good one
4/2/09 5:51 AM
nancy2001 said...
How clever.
4/2/09 8:44 AM
woole bully said...
what a great idea! i can't wait to try it.
4/2/09 9:00 AM
dollieo said...
Now this is a great tip. I have been sewing for years and have had that same problem afew time and not found a solution. Thank you so much for sharing. I now keep 41 cents by my machine.
4/2/09 9:27 AM
gaginny said...
that is a great tip......why didn't i think of that?
4/2/09 9:49 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...I am in awe!! What a terrific idea! Of course I never thought of that. I never do think of these great ideas! You know, this makes sense, and is so very helpful! Thanks!
4/2/09 9:56 AM
jeanharville said...
How creative! Thanks, jean
4/2/09 12:53 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Yes, this has happened to me!! LOVE this tip!! Clever title too. Thanks for sharing, knitmachinequeen! Carla
4/2/09 4:31 PM
librarylady said...
Brilliant. Thanks for the tip
4/2/09 5:48 PM
sewknitful said...
What a great idea!
4/3/09 11:34 AM
glenj said...
nice tip,but I just open the attachment where the button should go and add a little extra for the thickness of the button if need be.You don't need to put the button in the attachment.
4/4/09 9:11 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
great tip!!
4/7/09 4:11 PM
catsmeow said...
Clever title, and a great idea!
4/8/09 11:58 AM
BeckyinFC said...
I had this problem just the other day with a shank button and my new machine! Wish I had seen this before. Next time, I'll try it. Thanks so much for sharing.
4/28/09 5:58 PM
Clippy said...
What a super idea!! thank you!
7/26/09 6:39 PM
skysthelimit said...
Great idea, thank you!
5/5/10 9:38 PM
Alice said...
Girl, you are brilliant, I'll surely be trying that one.
10/3/10 9:14 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is a great idea/tip!
12/12/10 1:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.