SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Home-Made Clothing Labels

Viewed 5633 times
Posted by: Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpeg star
NJ USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/2/09 4:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
ABOUT MY LABELS: I also make up my own labels on my own clothes using a regular label program, my Canon Pixma M450 inkjet printer, and fabric sheets from The Electric Quilt Company. I use their "Premium Cotton Satin Inkjet Fabric Sheets." I do up one page of 30 labels at a time, as I need them. Six sheets of the standard regular size typing paper are in a package. You may have noticed them on my garments. I do that so I can tell the fronts from the backs on them and put them on some of my crafted items for you might say for "Braggin' Rights." I wait a couple of days after making them to let the ink completely dry into them and do the "cold water wash"as suggested by the manufacturer most of the time anyway......

I use the "Address Labels" in "Print Perfect" which is similar to "Avery Label Pro" and many other label programs. I have my first name and my middle name on the first two lines in a font about 18 with the third line my dress size in a different font, about 12 font size. I use the black ink on the plain white address label, making it a simple design.

One can get fancy and possibly use colored ink if they wish to along with adding a small graphic to their address label, too. Lots you can do with them with the many different address label programs out there. They're not just for making snails mail labels. They can be used for clothing labels when using fabric sheets in place of the paper label sheets.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
What a clever idea. You could also print out clothing care labels.
4/2/09 8:42 AM
mhk3boys said...
What a great tip! A real money saver!
4/2/09 1:08 PM
Laurie Lou said...
What perfect timing! Thanks this is totally helpful for me as I was searching this very topic on the net! GOld star for you!
4/2/09 5:18 PM
StitchinMom said...
Thank you for this wonderful tip. I've been looking at purchasing labels (expensive!), and this is a great solution (and econmical too!).
4/3/09 10:17 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Your welcome ladies. Been doing it for years. Gives the items a professional look, too. For slacks I bend the label over lengthwise and sew (zig zag) both ends to the seams. For the craft items I leave the size off.
4/3/09 10:29 AM
okiej said...
What a clever idea. I use the address labels for my quilt guilds' newsletter but had never considered printing on fabric for my garment labels. Yes, I too, like the bragging rights of the labels even if I am the only one that knows it is there.lol Great idea!!!!!Okie J
4/3/09 11:22 AM
okiej said...
What a clever idea. I use the address labels for my quilt guilds' newsletter but had never considered printing on fabric for my garment labels. Yes, I too, like the bragging rights of the labels even if I am the only one that knows it is there.lol Great idea!!!!!Okie J
4/3/09 11:23 AM
okiej said...
What a clever idea. I use the address labels for my quilt guilds' newsletter but had never considered printing on fabric for my garment labels. Yes, I too, like the bragging rights of the labels even if I am the only one that knows it is there.lol Great idea!!!!!Okie J P.S. I forgot to mention, I also like to put the pattern name and number in case I want to repeat the pattern.
4/3/09 11:24 AM
Elemar said...
Wonderful tip! I have always wanted to get my own labels but they are pretty expensive. Being a rather cheap, do it yourselfer, I'm going to give this a try.
4/11/09 8:40 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I have wanted to print my own labels, and I appreciate having a product recommendation. Thank you!
4/11/09 3:38 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Good idea in putting the pattern number on the label. Do you write the number using a pen on the printed label?
4/13/09 9:21 PM
versatile said...
This is a great idea. I have always wanted to brand my own style but labels are so expensive. Persons that I know tend to frown upon custom made clothes but when they see labels they asked all kind of question like where did you buy that etc... To me they tend to recognize fashion only when it has a label.
9/17/09 11:50 AM
janetgermer said...
This is a great idea. When I saw how expensive labels are, I thought I was not going add them, but then I found your tip. I will try it. Thanks.
9/14/11 1:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.